Skip to Content

Academic Advising


University Advisors Network

The UAN supports traditional academic progression in the classroom and the extra-curricular engagement necessary for life-long achievement.

Purpose & Goals

The UAN provides resources for all USC faculty and professional staff advisors serving Carolina undergraduate students. Effective advising supports traditional academic progression in the classroom, studio, and lab as well as extra-curricular engagement and personal growth necessary for life-long achievement.

We provide information on advising for courses needed in the Carolina Core (USC general education curriculum) and in the Program Major. We also provide information on advising for USC Connect, the beyond-the-classroom program for students interested in Community Service, Global Study, Internships, Peer Leadership, Research and Discovery.

The UAN is the coordinating council for advisors at USC. Each college has a representative in the UAN who serves as a liaison to relay college comments and share institutional information to enhance campus-wide advising effectiveness. 

 

UAN Meeting Schedule

The University Advisors Network meets monthly in the Gresette Room in Harper College. Please see the UAN meeting schedule below. 

  Date Time Location
 Fall 2016 September 21, 2016   9:30 - 11 am  Flinn Hall, Room 101
  October 19, 2016   9:30 - 11 am  Gressette Room, Harper College
  November 16, 2016   9:30 - 11 am  Gressette Room, Harper College
 Spring 2017 January 18, 2017   9:30 - 11 am  Gressette Room, Harper College
  February 15, 2017   9:30 - 11 am  Gressette Room, Harper College
  March 15, 2017   9:30 - 11 am  Gressette Room, Harper College
  April 19, 2017    9:30 - 11 am  Gressette Room, Harper College

 

Meeting Minutes and Handouts

September 21, 2016: Registrar, Admissions, USC Connect

October 19, 2016: New Student Orientation, LIBR101

November 16, 2016: International Accelerator Program, Major Maps

January 18, 2017: New Student Orientation, Academic Advising Survey

February 15, 2017: Applied Computing Minor, IAP follow-up, Self-Service Carolina: New Advisor Menu Demonstration

March 15, 2017: New Hardship Withdrawal Policy, On Your Time Initiatives, Changes to Transfer Credit Display in Self-Service Carolina 

 

UAN Members

Type Affiliation Name Contact Keywords
(hidden column)
Member

University Libraries

Joseph Askins
Information Literacy Librarian, Thomas Cooper Library
 jaskins1@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member

South Carolina Honors College

Kay Banks
Assitant Dean for Student Affairs, South Carolina Honors College
bankskh@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member

Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management

Valeria Bates
Academic Advisor, College of Hospitality, Retail, and Sport Management
bates5@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member

Undergraduate Admissions

Ed Black
Associate Director of Operations, Office of Undergraduate Admissions
blacke@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
TRiO Programs
Althea Counts
Associate TRiO Director/Opportunity Scholars Program Coordinator
countsa@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member

University Advising Center

Brian Dusel
Coordinator of Advising Technology, University Advising Center
duselb@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member  Athletics
Katie Ethridge
Associate Director of Academics, Department of Athletics
ethridmk@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Information and Communications
Art Farlowe
Director of Undergraduate Student Services, College of Information and Communications
afarlowe@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member USC Connect
Amber Fallucca
Associate Director, USC Connect
fallucca@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Study Abroad
Chrissie Faupel
Assistant Director of Undergraduate Advising, Study Abroad
faupel@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Academic Common Market
Meghan Fields
Program Coordinator, Academic Common Market, Office of the Provost
fieldsmk@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member  Arts and Sciences
Dawn Hiller
Director of Student Services (Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences), College of Arts and Sciences
hillerd@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member  Social Work
Rushondra James
Student Services Program Manager, College of Social Work
jamesrj@mailbox.sc.edu  
Chair Arts and Sciences
Loren Knapp
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Affairs, College of Arts and Sciences
lwknapp@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Palmetto College
Melissa Lowe
Director of Student Support and Advising, Palmetto College
lowem@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Registrar
Aaron Marterer
University Registrar
acmarte@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Darla Moore School of Business
Meredith McNeice
Associate Director of Undergraduate Programs, Darla Moore School of Business
meredith.mcneice@moore.sc.edu  
Member Arnold School of Public Health
Kara Montgomery
Clinical Associate Professor and Undergraduate Program Director, Arnold School of Public Health
karam@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Pharmacy
Alfred Moore
Director of Student Services, College of Pharmacy
moorea@sccp.sc.edu  
Member New Student Orientation
Bethany Naser
Director of New Student Orientation
naser@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Engineering and Computing
Ruth Patterson
Assistant Dean for Student Services, College of Engineering and Computing
ruthp@sc.edu  
Chair University Advising Center
Claire Robinson
Director, University Advising Center
 
Member Fellowships and Scholar Programs
Jan Smoak
Associate Director, Office of Fellowships and Scholar Programs
jansmoak@sc.edu  
Member Summer, Evening, and Non-Degree Programs
Amanda Therrell
Manager, Academics, Office of Summer, Evening and Non-Degree Programs
atherrell@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member University Advising Center
Sandra Varney
Assistant Director for Academic Success Coaching and Major Change Advising, University Advising Center
sandra.varney@sc.edu  
Member
Nursing
Heidi Waltz
Student Services Manager, College of Nursing
waltzh@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Education
Donna Watson
Director, Office of Student Services, College of Education
watsond5@mailbox.sc.edu