The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Buildings and Grounds Committee - Called Meeting

December 13, 2016

The Buildings and Grounds Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met at 9:45 a.m. on December 13, 2016, in the Alumni Center's C. Edward Floyd Boardroom.

Members present were: Mr. William C. Hubbard, Chairman; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Mark W. Buyck Jr.; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Thad Westbrook; and Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Board Chairman.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. William W. Jones Jr., Mr. Hubert F. Mobley;

Mr. Tommy D. Preston Jr.; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Ms. Molly Spearman; Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.; Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.; and Mr. Charles H. Williams. Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs participated by phone.

Also present were Faculty Senate Chair August E. "Augie" Grant and Student Government President Michael Parks.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Provost Joan T. A. Gabel; Chief Operating Officer Edward L. Walton; Vice President for Student Affairs Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Development Jancy Houck; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hogue; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; USC Aiken Chancellor Sandra Jordan; USC Beaufort Chancellor Al Panu; Palmetto College Chancellor Susan Elkins; Vice President for System Planning and Interim Chancellor for USC Upstate Mary Anne Fitzpatrick; University Treasurer Pat Lardner; Associate Vice President for Finance Kelly Epting; Associate Vice President for Finance Jennifer Muir; Dean for the College of Arts and Sciences Lacy Ford; Dean for the College of Nursing Jeannette Andrews; Vice Provost and Director for Global Carolina P. Allen Miller; Executive Director of Economic Engagement Bill Kirkland; Executive Director of Audit & Advisory Services Pam Doran; My Carolina Alumni Association Executive Director Jack W. Claypoole; Director of Facilities Planning and Programming and University Architect Derek S. Gruner; Director of Facilities Design and Construction Jeffrey D. Lamberson; Director of Capital Budgets and Financing, Charlie Fitzsimons; Director of Academic Programs, Provost's Office, Kristia Finnigan; Director of Parking, Department of Athletics, Jim B&G 121316 Page 1 of 3

Petrus; Associate Dean for the College of Nursing Stephanie Burgess; Faculty Senate Chair-Elect Marco Valtorta; Associate Dean for Diversity & Operations, College of Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management, Tena B. Crews; Professor Jed Lyons, College of Engineering and Computing; USC Upstate Professor Warren J. Carson; Chief of Staff, President's Office, J. Cantey Heath Jr.; USC Aiken Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Jeff Priest; Mack Stone, spouse of Board of Trustees and University Secretary Amy E. Stone; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff members Debra Allen and Ina Wilson.

I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chairman Hubbard called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone. Mr. Hickman introduced Avery Wilks with *The State*.

Chairman Hubbard stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been provided to the committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Hubbard stated that there were proposed contractual matters related to gift naming opportunities and facilities improvements that were appropriate for discussion in Executive Session. Mr. Allen moved to enter Executive Session and Ms. Moody seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

The following persons were invited to remain: Trustees, Dr. Pastides, Secretary Stone, the faculty and student representatives to the Board, members of the President's Executive Council, Mr. Gruner, and Ms. Doran.

Executive Session

With no other matters appropriate for discussion in Executive Session, Chairman Hubbard declared the meeting returned to Open Session.

Return to Open Session

II. <u>Gift Naming Opportunities</u>

Chairman Hubbard stated that the following gift naming opportunities were presented in Executive Session without objection:

A. <u>Alumni Association</u>

- 1. "The Chris and Beth Becht Executive Office"
- 2. "The Coach Dawn Staley and the Lady Gamecocks Conference Room"
- 3. "The Richard T. Greener Conference Room"
- 4. "The Mary P. Pruitt and J. Calhoun Pruitt, Linda P. McConnell and Calhoun Pruitt, Jr. Collaboration Space"
- 5. "The Thad H. Westbrook Family Historic Hallway"
- B. <u>Athletics</u>
 - 1. "The Joyner Family Bench"
 - 2. "The Wheeler Beach"
- C. <u>College of Social Work</u>
 - 1. "The Sallie Campbell, MSW '80, Children, Youth and Family Faculty Office"
 - 2. "The Dean Emeritus Leon and Connie Ginsberg Social Work Administration Faculty Office"
 - 3. "The Anton J. Gunn Social Policy and Advocacy Faculty Office"
 - 4. "The R.A. Hanner Faculty Office for Behavioral Health"
- D. <u>School of Law</u>
 - 1. "The Claude Mood Scarborough, Jr. Suite"
 - 2. "The Richland County Bar Association Pro Bono Office

Chairman Hubbard called for a motion to recommend that the full Board approve these gift

naming opportunities. Mr. Allen so moved and Mr. Buyck seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried. Mr. Westbrook recused himself from the vote.

III. Adjournment

There being no other business to come before the committee, Chairman Hubbard declared the meeting adjourned at 10:27 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary