Go to USC home page USC Logo Insert page title here

John E. Montgomery, Dean
Philip T. Lacy, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Janice S. Goings, Registrar
John S. Benfield, Assistant Dean for Admissions
Sharon C. Williams, Assistant Dean for Institutional Advancement
Steven D. Hinckley, Associate Dean, Law Library
Vance L. Cowden, Director of Clinical Education

Ladson Boyle, LL.M., New York University, 1975
R. Randall Bridwell, LL.M., Harvard University, 1971
Strom Thurmond Professor of Law
W. Lewis Burke, J.D., University of South Carolina, 1975
Katharine I. Butler, J.D., University of Tennessee, 1974
Alumni Professor of Legal Research
Vance L. Cowden, J.D., University of South Carolina, 1974
Nathan M. Crystal, LL.M., Harvard University, 1976
Roy Webster Professor of Law
Robert L. Felix, LL.M., Harvard University, 1967
James P. Mozingo III Professor of Legal Research
James F. Flanagan, LL.B., University of Pennsylvania, 1967
John P. Freeman, LL.M., University of Pennsylvania, 1976
Campbell Professor of Law
Steven D. Hinckley, J.D., University of Toledo, 1979
F. Patrick Hubbard, LL.M., Yale University, 1973
Ron Motley Torts Professor of Law
Philip T. Lacy, LL.B., University of Virginia, 1972
John E. Lopatka, LL.M., Columbia University, 1980
Alumni Professor of Law
Ralph C. McCullough II, J.D., Tulane University, 1965
American College of Trial Lawyers Professor of Law
S. Alan Medlin, J.D., University of South Carolina, 1979
John E. Montgomery, LL.M., University of Michigan, 1971
Dennis R. Nolan, J.D., Harvard University, 1970
Roy Webster Professor of Law
David G. Owen, J.D., University of Pennsylvania, 1971
Carolina Distinguished Professor of Law
William J. Quirk, LL.B., University of Virginia, 1959
Class of 1959 Professor of Law
Marie T. Reilly, J.D., University of Illinois, 1984
O’Neal Smalls, LL.M., Georgetown University, 1975
Roy T. Stuckey, J.D., University of South Carolina, 1973
Alumni Professional Skills Professor of Law
James L. Underwood, LL.M., Yale University, 1966
Strom Thurmond Professor of Law
Eldon Wedlock, LL.M., Yale University, 1969
David H. Means Professor of Law
Robert Wilcox, J.D., University of South Carolina, 1981

Associate Professors
Gregory B. Adams, J.S.D., Columbia University, 1986
James R. Burkhard, J.D., Ohio State University, 1968
Lisa A. Eichhorn, J.D. Duke University, 1990
Patrick J. Flynn, J.D., Indiana University, 1974
K. Winchester Gaines, LL.M., Emory University, 1990
David K. Linnan, J.D., University of Chicago, 1979
Martin C. McWilliams Jr., LL.M., Harvard Law School, 1976
Stephen A. Spitz, J.D., University of Nebraska, 1974
Howard B. Stravitz, J.D., Rutgers University Camden, 1972

Assistant Professors
Ann M. Bartow, LL.M., Temple University, 1997
Kim D. Connolly, J.D., Georgetown University, 1993
Brant J. Hellwig, LL.M., New York University, 2000
Richard H. Seamon, J.D., Duke University, 1986
Andrew M. Siegel, J.D., New York University, 1999
Robin Fretwell Wilson, J.D., University of Virginia, 1995

Professors Emeriti
Richard E. Day, J.D., University of Michigan, 1957
Robert W. Foster, LL.M., Duke University, 1951
Thomas R. Haggard, LL.B., University of Texas, 1967
George D. Haimbaugh Jr., J.S.D., Yale University, 1962
Herbert A. Johnson, LL.B., New York Law School, 1960
Henry Mather, J.D., Cornell University, 1970
William S. McAninch, LL.M., Yale University, 1969
Charles H. Randall Jr., LL.M., Harvard University, 1954
Walter A. Reiser Jr., LL.M., Harvard University, 1967
Jon P. Thames, LL.M., Harvard University, 1971


The School of Law offers a full-time day program leading to the Juris Doctor (J.D.) degree. To earn the J.D., a student must successfully complete 90 semester hours of course work. Normally, six semesters of resident study are required. In each of these semesters, students must register for a minimum of 12 credit hours. In addition, students must pass a minimum of 10 credit hours each semester. A student may graduate in two-and-one-half years if the student successfully completes at least six credit hours in two consecutive summer sessions.

The School of Law, in cooperation with other graduate programs at the University, also offers dual degrees. Dual degrees may be obtained in: international business administration (I.M.B.A.); public administration (M.P.A.); criminal justice (M.C.J.); human resources (M.H.R.); economics; accountancy; social work (M.S.W.); earth and environmental resources management (M.E.E.R.M.); and health administration (M.H.A.).

Dual degree programs may often be completed in four years. Students in dual degree programs may receive up to nine hours of law school credit for work successfully completed in their other field of study. Most students begin their program of study in the School of Law with the remaining years divided between both programs.

Upon acceptance by both programs, students must complete a dual degree form. Students should request this form directly from the School of Law Office of Admissions. Dual degree candidates must apply to both programs and be accepted by both programs. Acceptance into one program does not affect the decision of the School of Law.

The law school is fully accredited by the American Bar Association and the Association of American Law Schools and is a member of the Southeastern Conference of the Association of American Law Schools.


The number of well-qualified applicants to the School of Law far exceeds the number of seats available. The policy of the School of Law is to select the best-qualified applicants, with primary emphasis placed on two factors: the cumulative undergraduate GPA and performance on the Law School Admission Test (LSAT).

In order to be considered for admission, a candidate must have or expect to have an academic bachelor's degree from a fully accredited college or university by the date of the anticipated enrollment in the School of Law. All applicants are required to take the LSAT and to register with the Law School Data Assembly Service. The LSAT is offered four times each year.

The decision-making process begins in December of each year with the Faculty Committee on Admission reviewing completed files. Preference is given to residents of South Carolina. Nonresidents of the state are held to higher standards of admission. Traditionally, approximately 85 percent of the students in the entering class are legal residents of South Carolina.

While the combination of GPA and LSAT are important in the admissions decision, members of the committee also consider factors such as the quality of the degree-granting institution, the quality of the courses an applicant has taken, and any graduate work. Work experience, military service, community involvement, significant extracurricular activities, and letters of recommendation are also taken into consideration in reviewing an applicant's file.

Applications to the School of Law must be postmarked by February 15. Late applications are not accepted. Accepted applicants may request a one-year deferment, but this is granted only in extraordinary circumstances. For further information about the School of Law, interested applicants should contact the Office of Admissions, USC School of Law, Columbia, SC 29208, and request a copy of the School of Law Bulletin. Information about the School of Law may also be obtained by visiting our Web site at www.law.sc.edu.

Disabled Student Services

The law school has a Disabled Student Services program to assist disabled law students in assessment of needs, class adaptation, course requirements, registration, examinations, and counseling.