Go to USC home page USC Logo 2002-2003 Undergraduate Bulletin
UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH CAROLINA 2003-2004 Undergraduate bulletin
undergraduate bulletin index

Regional and Senior Campuses

Chris P. Plyler, Vice Provost and Executive Dean for Regional Campuses and Continuing Education
Carolyn A. West, Associate Vice Provost for Regional Campuses and Continuing Education
Thomas L. Hallman, Chancellor, USC Aiken
John C. Stockwell, Chancellor, USC Spartanburg
John Catalano, Dean of the University, USC Lancaster
C. Leslie Carpenter, Dean of the University, USC Sumter
Ann C. Carmichael, Dean of the University, USC Salkehatchie
James W. Edwards, Dean of the University, USC Union
Jane T. Upshaw, Dean of the University, USC Beaufort


Since 1957 the regional and senior campuses of the University of South Carolina have been meeting the higher-education needs of local communities. Today, as they continue to serve that need, their scope has increased to meet the demands of a growing state. Located throughout the state, the regional and senior campuses draw students from South Carolina counties, from bordering states, and from other areas, including the international community.

The senior campuses of the University are USC Aiken, USC Beaufort, and USC Spartanburg. In 1974 Spartanburg became a senior campus and was empowered by the Board of Trustees to award baccalaureate degrees. Aiken was granted this designation in 1975, while Beaufort was granted senior campus status in 2002. The regional campuses in Lancaster, Allendale (Salkehatchie), Sumter, and Union principally provide the first two years of undergraduate education, including selected associate degree programs, for their respective geographic areas. The regional campuses also provide for the completion of bachelor's degrees on site by offering selected upper-division course work in conjunction with the Aiken, Columbia, and Spartanburg campuses as well as some graduate education courses through the University's Extended Graduate Campus Program. In addition to providing these programs, the regional campuses bring the resources of the entire University to citizens throughout the state.

All campuses of the University are accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. Each campus is an integral part of the University, and students who meet the change of school requirements established by each campus and its respective colleges may move from one campus to another at the beginning of any semester.


Each regional campus has a dean who is responsible for local administration and reports to a vice provost who is responsible for the programs of all four campuses. Each senior campus has a chancellor who is responsible to the president of the University. A county or multicounty Commission of Higher Education serves each campus in an advisory capacity. Local representatives on the commissions advise deans and chancellors of the campuses, who in turn act as liaisons between the University and the county commissions. Administrative authority for all campuses of the University of South Carolina is vested in the Office of the President.

Off-Campus Learning

Besides on-campus classroom instruction, the regional and senior campuses offer credit courses through open- and closed-circuit television as well as at various off-campus locations (including military bases) throughout the state. Information concerning specific courses and sites may be obtained by contacting the respective campuses.

Continuing Education

Each regional and senior campus offers a vast array of noncredit educational opportunities such as community courses, workshops, seminars, conferences, and lectures. Most are low in cost and are designed to allow people to increase general knowledge, learn a skill, or satisfy personal enrichment needs. Participants do not receive traditional grades but are awarded continuing education units (CEUs) in recognition of satisfactorily completing a USC nondegree program.

Graduate Studies

Each campus also provides the opportunity for graduate study through the Extended Graduate Campus Program. Application for admission to enroll for graduate credit must be made to The Graduate School, Columbia campus. A graduate director for each campus can provide application forms and information concerning course offerings and schedules. Admitted students should seek advisement from the appropriate graduate director on the Columbia campus. Although every effort is made to coordinate graduate course offerings to follow selected programs of study, the University does not guarantee that a graduate student will be able to complete a degree program at a regional or senior campus. Extended Graduate Campus courses are offered in such areas as business, education, psychology and health.


Regulations governing admission, application procedures, and categories of admission are, in general, the same on all campuses. However, the faculty on each campus may establish regulations pertaining specifically to the admission of students at that particular campus. Application forms and bulletins may be obtained from the individual campus and application should be made to the particular campus at which the student wishes to enroll.

Correspondence Directory

Please address correspondence to the dean or chancellor of the campus.

USC Aiken
171 University Parkway, Aiken, SC 29801

USC Beaufort
801 Carteret Street, Beaufort, SC 29902

USC Lancaster
P.O. Box 889, Lancaster, SC 29721

USC Salkehatchie
P.O. Box 617, Allendale, SC 29810

USC Spartanburg
Spartanburg, SC 29303

USC Sumter
200 Miller Road, Sumter, SC 29150

USC Sumter/Shaw AFB Office
Base Education Center, 20MSS/DPE, 522 Nelson Avenue
Shaw Air Force Base, SC 29152

USC Union
P.O. Drawer 729, Union, SC 29379

USC Fort Jackson
Post Education Office, Fort Jackson, Columbia, SC 29207

Campus Movement

Students who intend to change schools to the USC Columbia campus to complete a baccalaureate degree should refer to the appropriate section(s) of this bulletin to determine the freshman/sophomore requirements of the college and/or department in which they expect to major. In the event that some required course(s) may not be available at the particular campus, students may make substitutions with the approval of the deans involved or postpone taking such courses until they move to the Columbia campus.

Degree Requirements

To receive the degree of Associate in Arts a student must have earned at least 60 hours of credit with the following minimum requirements: successful completion of ENGL 101 and 102 or equivalent, a 2.00 GPA, and 15 hours earned, depending on the campus attended, within the University or at that campus. To receive an Associate in Science degree, a student must meet these same requirements as well as successfully complete a minimum of 6 hours of mathematics. (Note: In the case of some campuses, a minimum course level and additional requirements exist.) Please refer to the respective regional campus bulletins for specific requirements.

The associate degree is conferred annually at the separate campuses. For additional associate degree requirements as well as baccalaureate degree requirements, students should refer to the various bulletins of the individual campuses.