Go to USC home page USC Logo School of Law
UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH CAROLINA 2008-2009 graduate bulletin
graduate bulletin index

updated 8/15/2008

Walter F. Pratt Jr., Dean
Robert M. Wilcox, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Duncan E. Alford, Associate Dean and Director of the Law Library
W. Lewis Burke, Director of Clinical Education
Lisa A. Eichhorn, Director of Legal Writing

F. Ladson Boyle, LL.M., New York University, 1975, Charles E. Simons Jr. Professor of Federal Law
W. Lewis Burke, J.D., University of South Carolina, 1975
Katharine I. Butler, J.D., University of Tennessee, 1974
Lisa A. Eichhorn, J.D. Duke University, 1990
James F. Flanagan, LL.B., University of Pennsylvania, 1967, Oliver Ellsworth Professor of Federal Practice
F. Patrick Hubbard, LL.M., Yale University, 1973, Ronald L. Motley Distinguished Professor of Tort Law
Philip T. Lacy, LL.B., University of Virginia, 1972
S. Alan Medlin, J.D., University of South Carolina, 1979, David W. Robinson Professor of Law
David G. Owen, J.D., University of Pennsylvania, 1971, Carolina Distinguished Professor of Law
Elizabeth G. Patterson, J.D., University of Arizona, 1976
Burnele V. Powell, LL.M., Harvard University, 1979, Miles and Ann Loadholt Professor of Law
Walter F. Pratt Jr., J.D., Yale University, 1977, Dean and Educational Foundation Distinguished Professor of Law
William J. Quirk, LL.B., University of Virginia, 1959
Robert M. Wilcox, J.D., University of South Carolina, 1981, Associate Dean and Director of Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough Center on Professionalism

Associate Professors
Gregory B. Adams, J.S.D., Columbia University, 1986
Duncan E. Alford, J.D., University of North Carolina, 1991
Ann M. Bartow, LL.M., Temple University, 1997

James R. Burkhard, J.D., Ohio State University, 1968
Kim D. Connolly, J.D., Georgetown University, 1993
Patrick J. Flynn, J.D., Indiana University, 1974
K. Winchester Gaines, LL.M., Emory University, 1990
Brant J. Hellwig, LL.M., New York University, 2000
Susan S. Kuo, J.D., Vanderbilt University, 1994

David K. Linnan, J.D., University of Chicago, 1979
Martin C. McWilliams Jr., LL.M., Harvard Law School, 1976
Howard B. Stravitz, J.D., Rutgers University Camden, 1972

Assistant Professors
Josie F. Brown, J.D., Harvard Law School, 1985
Cinnamon Carlarne, J.D., University of California, Berkeley, 2001
Jaclyn Cherry, J.D., University of Michigan, 1999
Thomas P. Crocker, J.D., Yale University, 2004
Joshua G. Eagle, J.D., Georgetown University, 1990
Jacqueline R. Fox, L.L.M., Georgetown University, 1995
Danielle R. Holley-Walker, J.D., Harvard University, 1999
Benjamin Means, J.D., University of Michigan, 1999
Eboni Nelson, J.D., Harvard University, 2001
Wadie E. Said, J.D., Columbia University, 1999
Joseph Seiner, J.D., Washington and Lee University, 1998
Joel H. Samuels, J.D., University of Michigan, 1999
Marcia Y. Zug, J.D., Yale University, 2004

Professor Emeritus
Herbert A. Johnson, LL.B., New York Law School, 1960


The School of Law offers a full-time day program leading to the Juris Doctor (J.D.) degree. To earn the J.D., a student must successfully complete 90 semester hours of course work. Normally, six semesters of resident study are required. In each of these semesters, students must register for a minimum of 12 credit hours. In addition, students must receive credit for a minimum of 10 credit hours each semester. A student may graduate in two-and-one-half years if the student successfully completes at least 6 credit hours in each of two consecutive summer sessions.

The School of Law, in cooperation with other graduate programs at the University, also offers dual degrees. Dual degrees may be obtained in: international business administration (I.M.B.A.); public administration (M.P.A.); criminal justice (M.C.J.); human resources (M.H.R.); economics (M.A.); accountancy (M.Acc.); social work (M.S.W.); earth and environmental resources management (M.E.E.R.M.); and health administration (M.H.A.). The School of Law also offers a dual degree program with the Vermont Law School. Students enrolled in the program may earn a J.D. from the University of South Carolina and a Master of Studies in Environmental Law from the Vermont Law School.

Dual degree programs may often be completed in four years. Students in dual degree programs may receive 9 hours of law school credit toward the J.D. for work successfully completed in their other field of study. Most students begin their program of study in the School of Law with the remaining years divided between both programs.

Upon acceptance by both programs, students must complete a dual degree form. Students should request this form directly from the School of Law Office of Admissions. Dual degree candidates must apply to both programs and be accepted by both programs. Acceptance into one program does not affect the decision of the School of Law.

The School of Law is fully accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools and the Southeastern Conference of the Association of American Law Schools.


The admissions goal of the School of Law is to enroll qualified students who will make a positive contribution to the school's educational environment and to South Carolina, the region, and the nation after graduation. In making admissions decisions, the Faculty Committee on Admissions takes a holistic approach and considers myriad factors with emphasis on the cumulative undergraduate GPA and the Law School Admission Test (LSAT). Other factors that may influence the committee's decision include, but are not limited to, employment experience, military or public service, residency, diversity, course of study, personal statement, and letters of recommendation.

In order to be considered for admission, a candidate must have or expect to have an academic bachelor's degree from a fully accredited college or university by the date of the anticipated enrollment in the School of Law or must be a participant in the Honors College six-year B.A./B.S.-J.D. degree program. All applicants are required to take the LSAT and to register with the Law School Data Assembly Service.

The decision-making process begins in December of each year with the Faculty Committee on Admission reviewing completed files.

Applications to the School of Law must be received in the Office of Admissions by April 1. To receive priority consideration for merit-based scholarships, an applicant's completed admissions file (including all supporting material) must be received in the Office of Admissions by February 1. Accepted applicants may request a one-year deferment. Requests must be in writing and should set forth in detail the reason(s) for deferment. Deferment is granted in the discretion of the Office of Admissions.

For further information about the School of Law, interested applicants should contact the Office of Admissions, USC School of Law, 701 Main St., Columbia, SC 29208. Information about the School of Law may also be obtained by visiting our Web site at www.law.sc.edu.

Services for Students with Disabilities

The School of Law assists disabled law students in assessment of needs, class adaptation, course requirements, registration, examinations, and counseling. For more information, please contact the Office of Student Affairs at the School of Law.