Skip to Content

Green Quad



About Green Quad

Main Image

Our Community

MISSION OF GREEN QUAD
The Green Quad is a sustainable living-learning community that seeks to connect and develop students and build a rich community in which students can enhance their sustainability knowledge and habits. Green Quad students will leave with the confidence and know-how to influence their peers and impact their world.

VISION OF GREEN QUAD
Through rich partnerships across all divisions of the University and throughout our community, the Green Quad strives to be a national model for sustainable living-learning programs from which students leave with the knowledge and confidence to make a lasting impact on their world.

WHAT WE DO IN GREEN QUAD

  1. LIVE GREEN: Provide opportunities to build community among residents to enhance overall effectiveness of Green Quad programming.
  2. LEARN GREEN: Provide sustainability centered programs, conversations, and opportunities to advance the knowledge and habits of Green Quad residents.
  3. LEAD GREEN: Provide opportunities to connect students to organizations, individuals, and opportunities across campus and develop their personal and professional skills.

Our Team

JOE JONES
Jones7@mailbox.sc.edu   803-777-2093
Joe is our Faculty Principal, aka the world's coolest professor. He's here to help you connect to your faculty and find research opportunities on campus. If ever you need academic advice, Joe's your guy. Also, he likes to bring his goat to campus. I mean, who wouldn't?


LAURA MAAS
maasl@mailbox.sc.edu   803-777-8712
Laura's your Assistant Principal, which is just a fancy title. She's here to help you plan for your future, ace your classes, and get involved with cool stuff on campus and in the community. Think of her as your coach - whenever you need something, she's got your back.


AUDREY JONES
audreyjones@sc.edu    803-777-4353
Audrey is our Business Manager and our rock. She manages the Learning Center and can help you with pretty much anything you need. She's also our resident musician and makes instruments from recycled materials! Cool lady.


DOM FRANCIS
francid2@mailbox.sc.edu   803-777-7823
Dom is the Graduate Assistant for GQ and runs our Green Scholars Program. You'll like him the most - he's a recent grad from USC and will be your ultimate resource on campus. He's getting his Master's in Public Health and lives in GQ. This guy's role-model status, so get to know him.


AMANDA WILLIAMS
amandawi@mailbox.sc.edu   803-777-1985
Amanda is the Area Coordinator of South Campus and mastermind of Green Quad. She oversees the Resident Mentors and monitors the day-to-day operations throughout the building. She's also an avid boxer and totally winning life.





Green Quad Resident Mentors

Ashley Bodner
B 106
abodner@email.sc.edu

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You're on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go... ” -Dr. Suess, Oh the Place You''ll Go!

Justin Gates
C 409
jtgates@email.sc.edu

“Follow the evidence”

Ramiro Murguia
B 402
rmurguia@email.sc.edu

“There is no passion to be found playing small - in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living.” -Nelson Mandela

Marissa Crum
C 102
mcrum@email.sc.edu

“To live is the rarest thing in the world.” -Oscar Wilde

Erin Jones
A 202
erinj@email.sc.edu

“The greatest thing you'll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return”

Ellen Williams
A 306
ellenmw@email.sc.edu

“I will not say that your mulberry trees are dead; but I am afraid they're not alive.” - Jane Austen

Liliann Pineda Hawkins
B 302
liliann@email.sc.edu

“Keep your face to the sunshine and you cannot see the shadows. It's what the sunflowers do.”- Helen Keller

Kendall Potter
C 306
kpotter@email.sc.edu

“Be yourself; everyone else is already taken”

Madalyn Neal
C 209
mrneal@email.sc.edu

“Set yourself earnestly to discover what you are made to do, and then give yourself passionately to the doing of it.” -Martin Luther King Jr.

Jerrica Walden
A 309
jwalden@email.sc.edu

"Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light." -Albus Dumbledore

Callie McCarty
A 406
mccarty@email.sc.edu

"Carpe Diem"

Mary Reid
C 309
mreid@email.sc.edu

“My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style”  - Maya Angelou

Akilah Alwan
C 406
aalwan@email.sc.edu

"Do. Amazing. Things."

Samuel Morrison
A 213
sam7@email.sc.edu

"In the end, it's not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years." - Abraham Lincoln

Adam Godfrey
C 206
godfreyv@email.sc.edu

"Be the change you want to see in the world." - Ghandi

 
© 2012 University of South Carolina Board of TrusteesPrivacy Policy