Skip to Content

African American Studies Program


Our People

Learn more about the faculty and staff of the African American Studies Program or contact us.

Faculty/StaffNameTitleSecondary TitlePhoneEmailKeywordsTags
Staff Arave, Lindsay Business Manager 803-777-1383 arave@mailbox.sc.edu African American Studies
Staff Brewer, Frenche Public Information Coordinator Booker T. Washington Auditorium Reservation Coordinator 803-777-5940 brewer4@mailbox.sc.edu African American Studies
Faculty Cummings, Jason L. Assistant Professor 803-777-1860 jcumming@mailbox.sc.edu African American Studies,Sociology
Faculty Davis, Thaddeus Associate Professor 803-777-7299 tldavis@mailbox.sc.edu African American Studies,Theatre and Dance
Faculty Finney, Nikky John H. Bennett, Jr. Endowed Professor of Creative Writing and Southern Letters 803-777-9433 finneylc@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature,African American Studies
Faculty Isom Scott, Deena Assistant Professor 803-777-0107 isom@mailbox.sc.edu Criminology and Criminal Justice,African American Studies
Faculty Johnson, Birgitta Assistant Professor 803-777-8370 bjohnson@mozart.sc.edu African American Studies
Faculty Lee, Seulghee Assistant Professor 803-777-4203 seulghee@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature,African American Studies
Faculty Littlefield, Valinda Director of African American Studies Associate Professor 803-777-7248 LittleVW@mailbox.sc.edu African American Studies,History
Faculty McAllister, Marvin Associate Professor 803-576-5964 memcal@sc.edu African American Studies,English Language and Literature
Faculty Shaw, Todd Associate Professor Department Chair 803-777-3109 shawtc@mailbox.sc.edu African American Studies,Political Science
Faculty Simmons, Kimberly E. Associate Professor 803-777-0822 ksimmons@mailbox.sc.edu Anthropology African American Studies,Anthropology
Staff Tolson, Nancy Assistant Director 803-777-7248 tolsonn@mailbox.sc.edu African American Studies
Faculty Whitted, Qiana J Associate Professor 803-576-5981 whitted@sc.edu English Language and Literature,African American Studies
Faculty Wideman-Davis, Tanya Associate Professor 803-777-7299 widemand@mailbox.sc.edu Theatre and Dance,African American Studies