Skip to Content

Department of Biological Sciences


Our People

Learn more about the faculty and staff of the Department of Biological Sciences or contact us.

Faculty/StaffNameTitleSecondary TitlePhoneEmailKeywordsTags
Faculty Alam, John Aftab Systems Administrator 803-777-7068 alam@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Alquati, Andrea Bonisoli Postdoctoral Research Associate 803-777-8241 alquati@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Armstrong, Alissa Richmond 803-777-9621 ararmstrong@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Barbour, Karen Research Associate 803-777-4398 barbour@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Bates, Millie TFAC Instructor batesmm2@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Benner, Ronald Distinguished Professor 803-777-9561 benner@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences,Academic Advisors,Marine Science,Earth Ocean and Environment
Faculty Berger, Franklin G. Director, Center for Colon Cancer Research Office: 803-777-1171, Lab: 803-777-7216, Office: 803-777-1231 fgberger@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Boggs, Carol Professor & Director, SEOE 803-777-6869 boggscl@mailbox.sc.edu Academic Advisors,Environment and Sustainability,Biological Sciences,Earth Ocean and Environment
Faculty Bolander, Franklyn F., Jr. Associate Professor 803-777-7656 bolander@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Bowman, Lewis Associate Professor 803-777-4142 lbowman@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Breeland, Peggy Staff/Chair's Administrative Coordinator 803-777-5084 breeland@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Brown, Herrick Assistant Curator - A. C. Moore Herbarium 803-777-8175 brownh@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Chen, Hexin Associate Professor 803-777-2928 chen53@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Chen, Huan Postdoctoral Researcher 803-777-6759 chen323@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Chen, Jian Postdoctoral Researcher 803-777-6759 chen328@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Cirtain, Margaret Lab Coordinator 803-777-3759 mcirtain@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Clifton, Sandra Program Coordinator Advisor 803-777-2852 clifton@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Crickenberger, Sam 803-777-3936 crickens@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Czako, Mihaly Instructor 803-777-8928 czakomi@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Datt, Anil TFAC Instructor 803-777-1095 datt@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Davis, Celestia Core Manager CCCR Mouse Experimentation Core 803-777-6286 davis@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Davis, Shannon Assistant Professor 803-777-8349 swdavis@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty DeCoursey, Patricia Arboretum Director 803-777-3934 decourse@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Dewey, Micheal Professor Emeritus Biological Sciences
Faculty Dhameja, Milan TFAC Instructor 803-777-8618 dhameja@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Dietrick, Jeremy Biological Sciences
Faculty Dudycha, Jeff Professor 803-777-3987 dudycha@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Earley, Pat Graduate Studies Coordinator 803-777-2755 pe@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Ely, Bert Director, Center for Science Education 803-777-2768 ely@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Faulk, Garrett Business Manager 803-777-1769 faulkgd@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Felder, Michael Professor 803-777-5135 mrfelder@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Friedman, Bob Associate Professor 803-777-0655 bobf@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Fronillo, Marguerite TFAC Instructor 803-743-0731 mff426@gmail.com Biological Sciences
Faculty Fu, Zhengqing Assistant Professor 803-777-8753 zfu@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Gamble, Megan Dantzler Instructor 803-777-6014 gamble@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Ghoshroy, Soumatra Director, Electron Microscopy Center 803-777-7085 ghoshroy@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Greenwold, Matthew Postdoctoral researcher 803-576-6135 greenwold@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Hagenbuch, Isaac Lab Coordinator 803-777-2062 hagenbui@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Handy, Carmel Indhira 803-777-1856 indhira@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Herr, John Distinguished Professor, Deceased 06/2016 Biological Sciences
Faculty Higgins, Kevin Adjunct Faculty Biological Sciences
Faculty Hillbish, Jerry Director of Graduate Studies 803-777-6629 hilbish@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Hughes, Austin Biological Sciences
Faculty Kathrein, Katie Assistant Professor 803-576-6211 kathrein@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Krizek, Beth Professor 803-777-1876 krizek@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Lawther, Robert Professor Emeritus Biological Sciences
Faculty Lee, Seung Joon Postdoctoral Researcher 803-777-9216 lee346@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Levina, Elina Biology 101 Lab Coordinator 803-777-5410 levinae@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Lincoln, David Distinguished Professor Emeritus Biological Sciences
Faculty Liu, Shou Postdoctoral Researcher liu282@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Lizarraga, Sofia Assistant Professor 803-777-2100 lizarras@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Loidice, Gaitano Tom TFAC Instructor 803-777-2852 loiodice@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Lovell, Charles R. Professor 803-777-7036 lovell@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Martin, Charlene Human Resources Coordinator 803-777-4142 ccurry@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Marton, Laszlo Professor 803-777-6676 martonl@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Matesic, Lydia Associate Professor 803-777-2520 lmatesic@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty McBride, Kendra Business Manager 803-777-9165 mcbridek@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff McKeown, Eric Electronic Technician 803-777-7163 ericm@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Mishra, Nawin Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Genetics & Genomics 803-777-5938 mishra@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Morris, James Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-3948 morris@inlet.geol.sc.edu Earth Ocean and Environment,Marine Science,Biological Sciences,Academic Advisors
Faculty Mousseau, Timothy Professor 803-777-8047 mousseau@sc.edu Earth Ocean and Environment,Environment and Sustainability,Biological Sciences,Academic Advisors
Faculty Nelson, John Curator of the Herbarium 803-777-8196 nelson@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Ozer, Ufuk 803-777-1855 ozer@email.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Patel, Rekha Professor 803-777-1853 patelr@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Pena, Maria Majorette Director, Mouse Core - Center for Colon Cancer Research 803-777-1060 mpena@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Pinckney, James Professor Director of the Belle W. Baruch Institute for Coastal and Marine Research 803-777-5288 pinckney@sc.edu Earth Ocean and Environment,Marine Science,Biological Sciences,Academic Advisors
Faculty Polson, Amanda Director of Undergraduate Studies 803-777-2518 polsona@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Poulain, Fabienne Assistant Professor 803-777-0713 fpoulain@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Pruss, Gail Research Professor Biological Sciences
Faculty Quattro, Joe Professor Graduate Director, School of Earth, Ocean and Environment 803-777-3240 Quattro@biol.sc.edu Earth Ocean and Environment,Marine Science,Environment and Sustainability,Biological Sciences,Academic Advisors
Faculty Rambert, David Distinguished Professor Emeritus Biological Sciences
Faculty Reeves, Tom TFAC Instructor 803-777-2852 reevest@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Reisman, David Director Center for Colon Cancer Research Tissue Biorepository 803-777-8108 reisman@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Richardson, Tammi Professor 803-777-2269 richardson@biol.sc.edu Earth Ocean and Environment,Marine Science,Biological Sciences,Academic Advisors
Faculty Rivero, Gonzalo Postdoctoral Researcher machoriv@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Rykaczewski, Ryan Assistant Professor 803-777-8159 ryk@sc.edu Earth Ocean and Environment,Marine Science,Biological Sciences,Academic Advisors
Faculty Sahoo, Pabitra Postdoctoral Researcher 803-777-9216 sahoop@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Sawyer, Roger Carolina Trustee Professor 803-777-0525 rhsawyer@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Schumpert, Charles Andy Lab Coordinator 803-777-3379 schumpca@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Shi, Liang Postdoctoral Researcher 803-777-3020 shi29@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Shim, Minsub Assistant Professor 803-777-1551 shimm@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Showman, Richard Associate Professor 803-777-3975 showman@biol.sc.edu Earth Ocean and Environment,Marine Science,Biological Sciences,Academic Advisors
Faculty Smith, Deanna Associate Professor 803-777-3020 deannasm@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty South, April Lab Coordinator BIOL 301L Instructor BIOL 301 803-777-3167 south@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Speiser, Daniel Assistant Professor 803-777-6597 speiser@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences,Academic Advisors,Marine Science,Earth Ocean and Environment
Faculty Stancyk, Stephen Distinguished Professor Emeritus Biological Sciences
Faculty Stewart, Jason Assistant Professor 803-576-5637 jason.stewart@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Stratmann, Johannes Department Chair 803-777-5084 johstrat@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Sutton, Jessica Instructor and Lab Coordinator 803-777-2054 suttonjr@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Szalai, Gabor 803-576-5775 Biological Sciences
Faculty Thames, Elizabeth Research Technician 803-777-9216 elthames@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Tufford, Daniel 803-777-3292 tufford@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Twiss, Jeff SmartState Chair in Childhood Neurotherapeutics 803-777-9215 twiss@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Vaish, vivek Postdoctoral Researcher 573-825-5161 vaish@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Vance, Vicki Wade T. Batson Jr. Professor of Botany 803-777-3179 vance@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Vogt, Richard Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-8101 vogt@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Waldman, Alan Professor 803-777-8405 awaldman@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Waldman, Barbara Research Associate Professor 803-777-9104 Biological Sciences
Faculty Wang, Yibin Postdoctoral Research Biological Sciences
Faculty Watt, Ward Professor 803-777-9884 wattw@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Wethey, David Professor 803-777-3936 wethey@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty White, Alan Professor 803-777-4141 arwhite@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Woodin, Sarah A. Carolina Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-4254 woodin@biol.sc.edu Earth Ocean and Environment,Biological Sciences
Staff Xu, Kaimei Laboratory Technician 803-777-4141 xu89@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Yoch, Duane Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-2322 yoch@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Youngblood, Julie Biological Sciences