Skip to Content

Department of English Language and Literature


Our People

Learn more about the faculty and staff of the Department of English Language and Literature or contact us.

Faculty/StaffNameTitleSecondary TitlePhoneEmailKeywordsTags
Faculty Amadon, Samuel Assistant Professor 803-576-5983 amadon@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Bajo, David Associate Professor 803-576-5974 bajo@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Barilla, James Associate Professor 803-576-5889 barilla@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Blackwell, Elise Professor eliseblackwell@outlook.com English Language and Literature
Faculty Brinkmeyer, Robert Professor 803-777-2340 brinkmey@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Brock, Kevin Assistant Professor 803-576-6002 kmbrock@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Brown, Paul Instructor 803-777-4203 brownpt2@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Chun, Elaine Associate Professor 803-576-5986 chune@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature,Linguistics
Faculty Clementi, F. K. Associate Professor 803-576-5885 clementi@mailbox.sc.edu Jewish Studies,English Language and Literature
Faculty Cochran, Shannon Instructor 803-777-4203 ferrism@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Cohen, Debra Rae Associate Professor 803-576-5961 drc@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Cooper, Mark Garrett Professor Director Film and Media Studies Program 803-576-5991 coopermg@sc.edu English Language and Literature,Film and Media Studies
Faculty Coriale, Danielle Assistant Professor 803-576-5842 dcoriale@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Countryman, Liz Assistant Professor countrym@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Courtney, Susan Professor 803-777-3265 courtney@sc.edu English Language and Literature,Film and Media Studies
Faculty Cowart, David Louise Fry Scudder Professor 803-777-2120 cowartd@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Crocker, Holly Professor 803-576-5957 hcrocker@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Davis, Cynthia Professor Associate Dean for Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences 803-777-0525 cjdavis@sc.edu College of Arts and Sciences,English Language and Literature
Faculty Dings, Fred Associate Professor 803-777-9047 dings@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Disterheft, Dorothy Associate Professor 803-576-5988 ddisterheft@sc.rr.com Linguistics,English Language and Literature
Faculty Dowdy, Michael Associate Professor 803-576-5945 mdowdy@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Doxtader, Erik Professor erik.doxtader@gmail.com English Language and Literature
Faculty Dubinsky, Stanley Professor 803-777-2208 dubinsky@sc.edu Jewish Studies,Linguistics,English Language and Literature
Faculty Edwards, Jonathan Senior Instructor edwardjj@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Ercolini, Gina Associate Professor 803-576-5953 ginaercolini@gmail.com English Language and Literature
Faculty Feldman, Paula C. Wallace Martin Professor 803-576-5894 feldmanp@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Fenske, Mindy Associate Professor 803-777-6595 fenske@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Finney, Nikky John H. Bennett, Jr. Endowed Professor of Creative Writing and Southern Letters 803-777-9433 finneylc@mailbox.sc.edu African American Studies,English Language and Literature
Faculty Fisk, Nicole Plyler Senior Instructor Associate Director of First-Year English 803-777-7528 fisknp@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Forter, Greg Professor 803-576-5895 gforter1@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Friend, Christy Professor 803-777-8322 chfriend@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Gavin, Michael Associate Professor 803-576-5960 mgavin@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Gehrke, Pat J. Associate Professor 803-576-5958 gehrke@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Gieskes, Edward Associate Professor 803-576-5909 gieskese@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Glavey, Brian Associate Professor 803-576-5535 glavey@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Graves, Sammantha Instructor 803-777-6863 gravessm@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Greven, David Professor 803-576-5945 dgreven@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Gulick, Anne W. Associate Professor 803-576-5969 agulick@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Gwara, Scott Professor 803-576-5962 gwaras@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Hawk, Byron Associate Professor 803-576-5910 bhawk@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Hazel-Lohr, Kimberly Budget Manager 803-777-3718 hazelloh@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Holcomb, Chris Professor 803-777-2253 holcombc@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Jackson, Leon Associate Professor 803-576-5948 jacksol@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Jarrells, Anthony Associate Professor 803-576-5993 jarrells@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Jelly-Schapiro, Eli Assistant Professor 803-777-4203 jellysch@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Johnson-Feelings, Dianne Professor 803-466-5646 dianne@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Keyser, Catherine Associate Professor McCausland Fellow 803-576-5845 catkeyser@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Lee, Seulghee Assistant Professor 803-777-4203 seulghee@mailbox.sc.edu African American Studies,English Language and Literature
Faculty Levine, Nina Professor and Chair 803-777-7120 levinen@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Liu, Qiandi Assistant Professor 803-777-2635 Qiandi.Liu@sc.edu Linguistics,English Language and Literature
Faculty Lynn, Steven Professor and Dean of Honors College 803-777-8102 lynns@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Madden, Ed Professor Director, Women's and Gender Studies Program 803-777-4008 maddene@mailbox.sc.edu Women's and Gender Studies,English Language and Literature
Faculty McAllister, Marvin Associate Professor 803-576-5964 memcal@sc.edu English Language and Literature,African American Studies
Faculty Miller, David Lee Carolina Distinguished Professor Director, Center for Digital Humanities 803-777-4256 dmill1951@gmail.com English Language and Literature
Faculty Minett, Mark Assistant Professor 803-576-5972 minett@mailbox.sc.edu Film and Media Studies,English Language and Literature
Faculty Moreno, Nina Associate Professor Spanish TA Supervisor morenon@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages Literatures and Cultures,Linguistics,English Language and Literature
Faculty Muckelbauer, John Associate Professor 803-576-5944 muckelba@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Powell, Tara Associate Professor 803-777-4203 tfpowell@gmail.com English Language and Literature
Faculty Rice, Thomas Jackson Professor 803-777-9493 tomrice@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Richey, Esther Gilman Associate Professor 803-576-5886 richeye@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Rivers, William Professor 803-777-6861 riversw@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Rule, Hannah Assistant Professor 803-576-5975 ruleh@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Schwebel, Sara L. Associate Professor 803-576-5891 schwebel@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Shields, David S. Carolina Distinguished Professor 803-576-5980 dshields@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Shifflett, Andrew Associate Professor 803-576-5977 shifflett@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Stern, Rebecca Associate Professor 803-777-2171 stern2@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Stowe, Graham Director, The Writing Center 803-777-3746 stoweg@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Thorp, Laura Graduate Student Coordinator 803-777-5063 thorp@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Trafton, Scott Associate Professor 803-576-5890 traftons@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Vanderborg, Susan Associate Professor 803-576-5905 sjvander@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Walker, Patti Senior Instructor 803-777-9776 walkerpc@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Weldon, Tracey Associate Professor Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion 803-576-0525 weldont@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature,Linguistics,College of Arts and Sciences
Faculty Whitted, Qiana J Associate Professor 803-576-5981 whitted@sc.edu English Language and Literature,African American Studies
Faculty Williamson, Jason Instructor 803-777-9775 will4434@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Woertendyke, Gretchen Associate Professor McCausland Fellow 803-576-5954 woertend@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature