Skip to Content

Department of Geography


Graduate Students

Ph.D. Students

Abrahams, Daniel
Email: abrahad@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Carr
Research: Conservation, ecosystem services, development, conflict, disaster vulnerability/response
Chin, Erika
Email: echin@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Dow
Research: Urban landscape ecology, biogeography, conservation
Derakhshan, Sahar
Email: saharder@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research: Hazards and vulnerability, recovery after disasters, risk mitigation policy
Fan, Qian
Email: fanq@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Wang/Hodgson
Research: Natural disasters, remote sensing
Huang, Yuan
Email: yhuang@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Guo
Research: GIS and spatial data mining
Huang, Xiao
Email: xh1@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Wang
Research: GIS, data mining, deep learning 
Hung, Chen-Ling (Jenny)
Email: hungj@email.sc.edu
Advisor: James
Research: Flood hydrology, urban hydrology, water resources
Jiang, Yuqin
Email: yuqin@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Li
Research: GIS, visualization, data mining
Kaase, Chris
Email: kaase@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Kupfer
Research: Biogeography, geomorphology, hydrology, landscape ecology, conservation
Krause, Christopher
Email: cmkrause@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Mitchell
Research: Geography education
Li, Huixuan
Email: huixuan@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Wang
Research: Remote sensing, GIS, urban and water environment, human health
Lu, Junyu
Email: jlu@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Carbone
Research: Climate change, drought impacts, remote sensing of environment
Martín, Yago
Email: yagom@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research: Natural disasters mitigation, climate change adaptation
Nelson, Beth
Email: eanelson@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Nagel
Research: Migration, citizenship, transnationalism
Nielson, Sam
Email: snielson@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Nagel
Research: Migration, refugees, political geography
Patel, Aashka
Email: patelaj@mailbox.sc.edu
Advisor: Carbone
Research: Climate change assessment, usability of climate information for decision-making, water resources
Román-Rivera, Mayra
Email: mayrar@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Ellis
Research: Coastal geomorphology, aeolian research, remote sensing and GIS coastal applications
Smith, Holly
Email: Hlsmith@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Mills
Research: Social movements of the Middle East and North Africa, youth identity, geopolitics
Sokol, Nicholas
Email: nsokol@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Hiscox
Research: Climatology, boundary layer meteorology, geocomputation
Tereszkiewicz, Pete
Email: petert@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Ellis
Research: Coastal and aeolian geomorphology, geographic information systems, complexity science
Zhu, Xi
Email: zhu44@mailbox.sc.edu
Advisor: Guo
Research: GIS, spatial data mining, geovisualization



Master's Students

Alexaner, Stuart
Email: stuartga@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Kupfer
Research: Biogeography
Arnold, Alice
Email: aa7@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Barnes
Research: Political geography, Middle East, cognitive geography
Bauer, Paul
Email: pbauer@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Carbone
Research: Weather and climate, drought and precipitation
Boutros, Divin
Email: dboutros@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Mills
Research: Middle East, geopolitics, identity and ethnic conflicts
Brugh, Jessica
Email: jmbrugh@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research:
Butler, Alex
Email: butler56@email.sc.edu
Advisor: James
Research: Fluvial geomorphology
Campbell, Raelene
Email: raelene@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research: Environmental hazards, meteorology
Davis, Eleanor
Email: eleanord@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Dow
Research: Coastal agriculture, climate change adaptation, climate policies, remote sensing
Dearman, Tyler
Email: tdearman@email.sc.edu
Advisor: James
Research: Fluvial geomorphology, hydrology, restoration, GIS
Harris, Michelle
Email: mh28@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Ellis
Research: Coastal geomorphology and hazards, coastal restoration
Marino, George (Brody)
Email: gm8@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Ellis
Research: Coastal geomorphology, human-environment systems, science policy
Ning, Huan
Email: hning@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Li
Research: Image understanding, time consumption
Pham, Erika
Email: epham@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research: Hazard vulnerability and resiliency, GIS, cartography and geovisualization, critical infrastructure
Seidler, Angie
Email: aseidler@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Barnes
Research: Water and agricultural management, Middle East, political ecology
Shao, Tianhua
Email: tshao@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Nagel
Research: Landscape, China, urban geography
Spires, Tyler
Email: spiresct@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research: Natural hazards
Stewart, Michael
Email: mjs11@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Hiscox
Research: Boundary layer meteorology
Young, Brittani
Email: bmyoung@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Harrison
Research: Human-environment interactions, political ecology