## DEPARTMENT OF MATHEMATICS 2008- 2009 AY COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS 1/21/09

Chair of the Committee of Tenured Faculty: Wu

Chair of the Committee of Tenured Full Professors: Filaseta

Colloquium Committee: Nyikos (Dept., spring), Petrushev (Dept., fall, and IMI, all year)

Computational Math Committee: Binev, Dix (fall), Howard, Ju, Sharpley (fall), H. Wang, Q. Wang

Computer Committee: Binev, Ju, Meade, Q. Wang, Moore (ex-officio)

Events Committee: **Sanders**, Binev, Cooper, R. Diestel, C. Dutle (Mrs. Aaron), Gross, W.-T. Li, Miller, Sherrill-Bracey, T. Sircar, H. Wang, Webb, X. Wu

Executive Committee: Griggs, Meade, Miller, Schep (all ex-officio)

Facilities and Offices: Griggs, McNulty, Miller, Schep

Faculty Advisory Council: **Bennett** (2009), Boylan (2009), Czabarka (2010), Temlyakov (2009), Vraciu (2010).

Faculty Mentors: Bennett (Binev, Wick), Filaseta (Boylan, Mossinghoff, Thorne), Girardi (Czabarka, Vraciu), Ju (Lindley), Kustin (Cooper), Schep (Flattot), Sharpley (Blanco-Silva, Choate, Karaivanov), Szekely (Lu, Zou), Temlyakov (Bilyk), Trifonov (Biro)

Financial Mathematics Committee: Dilworth (on sabbatical all year)

Graduate Advisory Council: Miller, Gross (student member), Howard, Lu, Petrushev, Schep, Trifonov, Binev

Graduate Student Teaching Course Coordinator: O'Leary

Grant Mentoring Committee: Filaseta, Girardi, Griggs, Meade, Szekely, Temlyakov

High School Mathematics Contest Committee: **Murphy, Trifonov**, Biro, Czabarka, Filaseta, Sanders, Vraciu, Wu

Hiring Committee: Howard, Girardi, Ju, H. Wang, Q. Wang, Wick

IMI Executive Committee: Bennett (2009), Cooper (2010), Oskolkov (2010), Petrushev (2009), Temlyakov (2009), Griggs (ex-officio), Sharpley (ex-officio, fall)

IMI Research Report Series: Ju

Library Committee: Wu

MAA Liaison: Boylan

MCM Coach: Lu

MSRI Liaison: Miller

Math Education Committee: Geddings, Meade, O'Leary, Vraciu

Newsletter/ P.R. Committee: Griggs, Stephenson

Peer Review of Teaching Committees:

- F1: Temlyakov, Bennett, Filaseta
- F2: Stoll (fall), Miller, Oskolkov, Kustin (spring)

- T: McNulty, Dix (fall), Girardi, Nyikos (spring),
- PI: Geddings, O'Leary

IIME advisors: Girardi, Flattot, Sanders, Szekely, Zou

Post-Tenure Review Committee (elected): **Bennett** (2009), Howard (2010), Ju (2009), McNulty (2010), Trifonov (2010)

Practice AP Calculus Test: O'Leary

Putnam Exam Coaches: Filaseta, Griggs, Howard

SIAM Faculty Advisor: Lu

Textbook Committee for Service Courses (Math 111, 115, 122, 170, 141-241, 242: Schep, Meade, O'Leary

Undergraduate Advisors:

- Freshmen Majors Murphy
- Upper Division Majors **Meade**, Binev, Boylan, Cooper(SCHC), Czabarka(MathEd), Dix (fall), Filaseta(SCHC), Lu, McNulty (SCHC), Nyikos (spring), Vraciu (Math Ed), H. Wang, Wick, Wu [Dilworth on sabbatical all year]

Undergraduate Advisory Council: **Meade**, Boylan, Cooper, Czabarka, McNulty, Trifonov, Watson (student member).

Website Committee: Cooper, Griggs, Meade, Miller, Moore (ex-officio), Murphy (webmaster), Price (ex-officio)

## **College of Arts and Sciences Committees**

CAS Summer School Task Force: Meade Computer Advisory Committee: Meade (Science & Mathematics Subcommittee)

## **University Committees**

Distinguished and Chaired Professorships: **Temlyakov** Faculty Senators: **Lu** (2009), **Boylan** (2010), **Cooper**(2011) Fellowships and Scholar Programs Advisory Committee: **Meade** Grievance: **Temlyakov** Goldwater Scholarship Committee: **Meade** (**Chair**) Graduate Council: **Trifonov**(**2009**) Honors College Policy Council: **O'Leary** Instructional Development Committee: **Meade** Mitchell Fellowship Committee: **O'Leary** Preston Residential College Associates: **Miller** Russell Award in Science and Engineering: **Szekely** (**Chair**) Scholarship & Financial Aid Committee: **O'Leary** 

## **On Sabbatical or Other Leave**

- Fall: Nyikos(sabb.), Kustin
- All year: Androulakis(sabb.), Bilyk, Dilworth (sabb.), Thorne
- **Spring:** Dix(sabb.)