Skip to Content

College of Information and Communications


Faculty and Staff Directory

This directory contains links to contact information for full-time faculty and staff of the College of Information and Communications.  Use the box below to do a quick search for a specific individual, program of study (information science, advertising, public relations, mass communications, journalism, broadcast, visual communications) or school: SLIS (School of Library and Information Science); SJMC (School of Journalism and Mass Communications.

Faculty/Staff Name Title Secondary Title Phone Email Keywords
Faculty Alvarado, Glenda, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 803-777-3427 glenda.alvarado@sc.edu SJMC,advertising
Faculty Arns, Jennifer Weil, Ph.D. Associate Professor 803-777-2319 jarns@mailbox.sc.edu SLIS,library
Faculty Bierbauer, Charles Dean Professor 803-777-4105 bierbauer@sc.edu dean, cic, journalism, magnificent, College of Information and Communications (CIC), mci
Faculty Bowen, Shannon A., Ph.D. Professor 803-777-3764 sbowen@sc.edu sjmc, public relations
Staff Bullard, Katie Career Services Manager 803-777-3347 kbullard@sc.edu sjmc, jobs, careers, internships, student services
Faculty Campbell, Kenneth, Ph.D. Mass Communications Sequence Head Associate Professor 803-777-3316 kcampbell@sc.edu sjmc,mass communications
Faculty Carter, Shirley Staples, Ph.D. Professor 803-777-3324 sscarter@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc,public relations
Staff Cato, Camea First-Year Academic Advisor 803-777-0333 catocam@mailbox.sc.edu SJMC, student services, advisor, SLIS
Staff Chappell-Fail, Jill Senior Information Resource Consultant 803-777-1928 jillfail@sc.edu cic,IT staff
Staff Collins, Erik, Ph.D., J.D. Professor Emeritus 803-777-3310 erik.collins@sc.edu sjmc,law,journalism
Faculty Copeland, Clayton A., Ph.D. Instructor 803-777-3858 copelan2@mailbox.sc.edu slis,library
Faculty Covington, Randy David Newsplex Director Faculty 803-777-5998 randy.covington@sc.edu sjmc,newsplex,journalism
Staff D'Autel, Jens Pierre Eugene Network Administrator 803-777-2750 pierred@sc.edu sjmc,IT staff,
Staff Dennis, Leslie Director of Scholastic Media Organizations 803-777-6146 dennislc@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc,scholastic organizations,sipa,scspa,cji
Faculty Drewniany, Bonnie Advertising Sequence Head Professor 803-777-6093 drewniany@sc.edu sjmc,advertising
Staff Farlowe, Art Undergraduate Student Services Director 803-777-5168 afarlowe@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc, student services
Faculty Farrand, Scott Senior Instructor 803-777-6422 farrand@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc,visual communications, viscom
Faculty Fisher, Doug Senior Instructor 803-777-3315 dfisher@sc.edu sjmc,journalism
Faculty Freeburg, Darin, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 803-777-0446 darinf@mailbox.sc.edu slis
Staff Friedman, Rebekah Development Coordinator 803-777-6791 rebekahb@mailbox.sc.edu
Faculty Gavigan, Karen W., Ph.D. Associate Professor 803-777-1676 kgavigan@mailbox.sc.edu slis,school library
Faculty Grant, August (Augie) E., Ph.D. J. Rion McKissick Professor of Journalism 803-777-4464 augie@sc.edu sjmc,journalism
Faculty Grigg, Ernie Instructor 803-777-5479 egrigg@mailbox.sc.edu SJMC
Staff Hall, Patty A. Webmaster 803-777-6931 phall@sc.edu cic
Staff Hansford, Rachel Nichole Administrative Coordinator 803-777-3244 rhansfor@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc
Faculty Hastings, Samantha Kelly, Ph.D. Professor 803-777-1730 hastings@sc.edu slis
Staff Hogg, Britt Greenhouse Studio Operation Manager Digital Sign Content Administrator 803-777-3248 bhogg@mailbox.sc.edu SJMC
Faculty Holmes, Cecile S. Journalism Sequence Head Associate Professor 803-777-5913 cholmes@sc.edu sjmc,journalism
Staff Hughes, Sandra M. Graduate Student Services Director 803-777-5166 hughes-sandra@sc.edu sjmc
Faculty Hull, Kevin, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 803-777-4746 khull@mailbox.sc.edu journalism, broadcast, sjmc
Faculty Jang, S. Mo, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 803-777-3321 jangsm@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc,journalism
Staff Jeffcoat, Kim Shealy Executive Director, South Carolina Center for Children's Books & Literacy Senior Editor, Young Palmetto Books 803-777-2744 kimj@sc.edu slis,scccbl
Staff Justice, Cynthia Benton Assistant Dean for Student Services 803-777-7066 cjustice@sc.edu student services
Faculty Karami, Amir Assistant Professor 803-777-0197 karami@mailbox.sc.edu SLIS
Faculty Kawooya, Dick, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 803-777-4949 kawooya@sc.edu slis,bsis,information science
Staff Keeling, Sarah, Ph.D. Student Services Manager Adjunct Faculty 803-777-0270 skeeling@sc.edu SLIS
Faculty Kenney, Keith R., Ph.D. Associate Professor 803-777-3302 kkenney@sc.edu sjmc,visual communications,viscom
Faculty Kim, Sei-Hill, Ph.D. Associate Director for Graduate Studies and Research Eleanor M. & R. Frank Mundy Professor 803-777-7037 seihillkim@gmail.com sjmc,public relations
Faculty Konkle, Bruce Edward, Ed.D. Associate Professor 803-777-3312 konklebe@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc,viscom,visual communications
Faculty Kornegay, Van Visual Communications Sequence Head Associate Professor 803-777-6147 kornegay@sc.edu sjmc,viscom,visual communications
Faculty Lankes, R. David Director, School of Library and Information Science Associate Dean, College of Information and Communications 803-777-3858 rdlankes@mailbox.sc.edu slis, director, administration
Staff Leigh, Brytnee Assistant Dean for Administration and Finance 803-777-5066 bleigh@sc.edu cic
Faculty Lewis, Elise C., Ph.D. Assistant Professor 803-777-4688 elewis@sc.edu slis
Faculty Liu, Jingjing, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 803-777-1136 jingjing@sc.edu slis
Faculty Mallia, Karen L. Associate Professor CreateAthon@USC Coordinator 803-777-1154 kmallia@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc,advertising
Faculty Marshall, Jennifer A., Ph.D. Instructor 803-777-2298 jmarshall@sc.edu slis
Faculty Martin, Michelle H., Ph.D. Professor Augusta Baker Chair in Childhood Literacy 803-777-1215 martinmi@sc.edu slis
Staff Masters, Theresa Academic Advisor 803-777-2818 tcmaster@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc, student services
Faculty Maye, Carmen, J.D., Ph.D. Assistant Professor 803-777-3301 cmaye@sc.edu sjmc,law,advertising
Faculty McGill, Denise Ann Associate Professor 803-777-8707 mcgilld@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc,viscom, visual communications
Faculty McKeever, Brooke Weberling, Ph.D. Master of Mass Communication Coordinator Assistant Professor 803-777-2050 brookew@sc.edu sjmc,public relations
Faculty McKeever, Robert, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 803-777-1155 robert.mckeever@sc.edu sjmc,public relations
Staff Mitchell, Frank Broadcast/Engineer Maintenance Technician 803-777-8410 mitchefw@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc
Faculty Moorefield-Lang, Heather M., Ed.D. Assistant Professor 803-777-0224 mlangh@mailbox.sc.edu slis,school library
Staff Moorer, Terri S. Newsplex Program Coordinator Grant Administrator 803-777-4663 moorert@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc
Faculty Mortensen, Tara Marie, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 803-777-3762 taram@sc.edu sjmc,viscom, visual communications
Faculty Moscowitz, Leigh, Ph.D. Associate Professor 803-777-4417 moscowil@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc, public relations
Faculty Nachlinger, Harvie Edmund Senior Instructor 803-777-9313 hnach@sc.edu sjmc,broadcast journalism
Faculty Pardun, Carol J., Ph.D. Professor 803-777-9572 pardunc@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc,advertising
Faculty Peterson, Rick Senior Instructor 803-777-5203 rspeter@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc,broadcast journalism
Staff Polizzi, Gina First-Year Academic Advisor 803-777-7048 polizzig@mailbox.sc.edu SJMC, student services, SLIS
Staff Price, Lenora (Nonie) Continuing Education/Alumni Coordinator 803-777-0513 nprice@sc.edu slis
Staff Quackenbush, Elizabeth Senior Director of Development 803-777-6898 elizaq@mailbox.sc.edu cic
Faculty Ranta, Jeffrey (Jeff) A., Ph.D. Senior Instructor Faculty Advisor, The Carolina Agency 803-777-4614 ranta@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc,public relations
Faculty Rathbun-Grubb, Susan R., Ph.D. Assistant Professor 803-777-0485 srathbun@mailbox.sc.edu slis
Faculty Romney, Miles Instructor 803-777-0206 romneym@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc, journalism
Staff Salter, Jeff Information Resource Consultant II 803-777-3185 jcsalter@sc.edu slis
Staff Shaw, George, Jr. Student Services Coordinator 803-777-3887 gshaw@mailbox.sc.edu slis,student services
Staff Shelek, Christine Program Coordinator, Cocky's Reading Express 803-777-1339 christineshelek@sc.edu slis,scccbl
Faculty Sisk, Lisabeth (Lisa) D. Senior Instructor 803-777-8605 lisasisk@sc.edu sjmc,public relations
Faculty Smith, Laura K., Ph.D. Hearst Visiting Professor of Journalism 803-777-5232 lksmith@sc.edu broadcast, sjmc
Faculty Solomon, Gerry Instructor Coordinator of School Library Field Experiences 803-777-5512 gsolomon@mailbox.sc.edu slis,school library
Faculty Solomon, Paul, Ph.D. Associate Professor 803-777-5512 paulsolomon@sc.edu slis
Staff Stoehr, Madonna L. Program Coordinator for Distributed Learning 803-777-8068 mstoehr@mailbox.sc.edu slis
Faculty Tanner, Andrea, Ph.D. Director, School of Journalism and Mass Communications Associate Dean, College of Information and Communications 803-777-4979 atanner@sc.edu sjmc,broadcast journalism,director
Staff Tatge, Mark Baldwin Fellow 312-550-5122 mark@tatge.net sjmc
Staff Thomas, Andy Undergraduate Adviser 803-777-4028 athomas@sc.edu slis,student services,bsis,information science
Faculty Tu-Keefner, Feili, Ph.D. Associate Professor 803-777-1026 feilitu@sc.edu slis
Staff Twohey, Nancy Kim Assistant to the Dean Administrative Coordinator 803-777-4105 twohey@sc.edu cic
Staff Wallace, Debi Student Services Administrative Assistant 803-777-0068 wallacdc@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc,student services
Faculty Wei, Ran, Ph.D. Gonzales Brothers Professor of Journalism Editor-in-Chief, Mass Communication & Society 803-777-5762 wei2@sc.edu sjmc,public relations
Faculty Weintraub, David Senior Instructor 803-777-3314 weintraub@sc.edu sjmc,viscom,visual communications
Faculty Wiggins, Ernest L. Associate Professor 803-777-3325 wigginel@mailbox.sc.edu sjmc,journalism
Staff Williams, Robert V., Ph.D. Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-2324 bobwill@sc.edu slis
Staff Wright, Angela Assistant to the Director 803-777-3858 awright@sc.edu slis
Staff Zeigler, Lewis Information Resources Consultant 803-777-6496 lzeigler@sc.edu cic, SJMC