Skip to Content

College of Mass Communications and Information Studies

Students recognized at honors and awards ceremony

Hard work pays off for students at the 2014 School of Journalism and Mass Communications Honors and Awards ceremony.

"It's always exciting to step back, look at the big picture and see what so many of our students have accomplished," said Dr. Carol Pardun, director of the school. These accomplishments include academic grades, leadership and involvement in extracurriculars.

This year, more than 150 students were recognized for their achievements, including seniors chosen by faculty for special awards.

One of these seniors, Anne Drowne, winner of the Outstanding Visual Communications Senior award, thanked her advisor and professors for helping her land internships with big-name companies.

"I truly credit my amazing undergraduate experiences here at USC to the J-school," she said. "And even outside the classroom, the guidance and advice from (my advisor) Art Farlowe, as well as Beverly Dominick and Dr. Erik Collins, have helped me land internships with Michael Kors, Harpers Bazaar and Vogue."

Hugh Munn Award winner Joy Gannaway was also thankful to have supportive advisors and professors who helped find her calling in public relations. After being encouraged to study abroad in Kenya, she knew what she wanted to do with her public relations degree.

"When I came back from Kenya, I knew I wanted to serve internationals," she said. "The skills I've learned here at the J-school  being able to write and promote events — has helped me to serve people better. 

Charles Bierbauer, dean of the College of Mass Communications and Information Studies, hoped every student would leave the school with dreams of even bigger achievements in the future.

"You've done great things here. There's more to be done in the future as you go forward." 

Senior Award Winners

Claire Potts, Outstanding Advertising Awards

Bethany Schifflin, Outstanding Public Relations Senior

Joy Gannaway, Hugh Munn Award

Aston Jeffcoat, Photographer of the Year

Anne Drowne, Outstanding Visual Communications Senior

Christian Barker, Designer of the Year

Sarah Ellis, J. Rion McKissick Award

Isabelle Khurshudyan, George Buchanan Award

Meredith Gazes, Outstanding Mass Communications Senior

Shannon C. Feher, Outstanding Electronic Journalism Award for Reporting

Nathan I. Canniff-Kuhn, Outstanding Electronic Journalism Award for Leadership

Article by Tiffiney Miles, graduate web assistant