Skip to Content

College of Mass Communications and Information Studies

Farrar Award in Media & Civil Rights History

The Ronald T. and Gayla D. Farrar Award in Media & Civil Rights History recognizes the best journal article or chapter in an edited collection on the historical relationship between the media and civil rights. 

About the Award

The Farrar Award is presented in honor of Ronald and Gayla Farrar.  Dr. Farrar is Professor Emeritus of the School of Journalism and Mass Communications. Recipients of the award receive a plaque and $1,000.  The winner will present his or her work in a featured address at the Media & Civil Rights History Symposium scheduled for April 2-4, 2015, in Columbia.  See previous recipients of the award.

Call for Nominees

Submitted articles or chapters should be works of historical scholarship and must have been published in 2013 or 2014. We encourage submissions that address the media and civil rights from a range of local/national/transnational contexts, periods, and perspectives.

Scholars may nominate and submit their own work or the work of others. A national panel of experts will judge the contest. 

Nominations are made by submission of a cover letter and four copies of the article or chapter by mail or email.

Nominations must be received by midnight Dec. 15, 2014. Late submissions will not be considered. 

Submit nominations to:

Dr. Kenneth Campbell
Associate Professor
School of Journalism and Mass Communications
University of South Carolina
Columbia, SC 29208