Skip to Content

My Arnold School


RSVP by June 3 for a Free Webinar on Cognitive Aging

May 18, 2016

RSVP! Healthy Brain Research Network (HBRN) Scholars and Others Are Invited:
HBRN Scholar Webinar & Interactive Learning Session on Cognitive Aging
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
12‐1:30 PT/ 1‐2:30 MT/ 2‐3:30 CT/ 3‐4:30 ET


Featuring…

What is cognitive aging and how is it different than dementia?
Jason Karlawish, MD, University of Pennsylvania
Dr. Jason Karlawish is a Professor of Medicine, Medical Ethics and Health Policy, Senior Fellow of the Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics, and Fellow at the Institute on Aging at the University of Pennsylvania. He is the Director of Penn’s Neurodegenerative Disease Ethics and Policy Program; co‐Director of the Penn Memory Center; the Director of the Alzheimer’s Disease Center’s Outreach and Recruitment Core; and Director of a CDC‐funded Healthy Brain Research Network Center.
http://www.upennprc.org/project/healthy-brain-research-network/


What do people know and think about cognitive aging?
Daniela Friedman, PhD, University of South Carolina
Dr. Friedman is a tenured associate professor in the Department of Health Promotion, Education, and Behavior. She works with the university’s Office for the Study of Aging, serves as core faculty in the Statewide Cancer Prevention and Control Program, faculty affiliate of the Prevention Research Center and Women’s and Gender Studies Program, and admissions director for the university’s interdisciplinary Certificate of Graduate Study in Health Communication. Dr. Friedman is Principal Investigator of the CDC‐funded South Carolina Healthy Brain Research Network Center and CDC and NCI‐funded South Carolina Cancer Prevention and Control Research Network Center.
http://prevention.sph.sc.edu/projects/braincenter.html


BRFSS Focus Groups: How African Americans in Oregon make meaning of
Caregiving and Cognitive Impairment
Andre Pruitt, MSW, LCSW, with Raina Croff, PhD and Linda Boise, PhD
Oregon Health & Science University
Andre Pruitt is a doctoral student and adjunct instructor at the School of Social Work at Portland State University, and currently a research intern at the Layton Aging & Alzheimer’s Disease Center, Oregon Health & Science University. He is a licensed clinical social worker who has been providing direct services for the past 16 years and is trained in Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing, Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, and Empowerment Theory. He has also provided diversity consultation and trainings for over 20 years.
http://www.oregonprc.org/projects/current/oregon-healthy-brain-researchnetwork.html 


Participants must be pre‐registered.
RSVP by Friday June 3, 5:00 PT: https://catalyst.uw.edu/webq/survey/gmoni/304731
Prior to the webinar all registrants will receive webinar information.
For questions, contact Gwen Moni at gmoni@uw.edu 
Print flyer [pdf]