The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Governance Committee – Called By Microsoft Teams Hosted from Osborne Administration, Suite 206

Hosted from Osborne Administration, Suite 200 January 29, 2024

OPEN SESSION

I. Call to Order

Chair Newton called the meeting to order at 5:03 p.m. Secretary Howell confirmed Trustees attending in person and by Microsoft Teams audio and video conference.

Committee Members in attendance:

Rose Buyck Newton, Chair (online)

C. Dan Adams (online)

Alex English (online)

Hubert F. Mobley (online)

E. Scott Moïse (online)

Leah B. Moody (online)

C. Dorn Smith III (online)

Thad H. Westbrook, Board Chair

Other Trustees in attendance:

Brian C. Harlan (online)

Henry L. Jolly Jr. (online)

Richard A. Jones Jr. (online)

Emma W. Morris (online)

Reid T. Sherard (online)

John C. von Lehe Jr. (online)

Charles H. Williams (online)

Others in attendance:

Emmie Thompson, USC Columbia Student Government President (online) David Seaton, Advisor to the Governance Committee (online)

Administrators in attendance:

Cameron Howell, University Secretary and Secretary of the Board of Trustees

Terry Parham, General Counsel Ray Tanner, Athletics Director

Media in attendance:

David Cloniger, the *Post & Courier* Alan Cole, Gamecockcoop.com Jordan Kaye, the *State* Jack Veltri, GamecockCentral.com Matt Vereen, WACH Fox News John Whittle, BigSpur.com

Notice:

Chair Newton stated notice of the meeting and agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Newton stated there was a need for an Executive Session for the receipt of legal advice regarding a proposed employment agreement for an assistant football coach.

Mr. Mobley made the motion to enter Executive Session, and Dr. Smith seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried unanimously.

Chair Newton invited the following to remain: Trustees, Ms. Thompson, Mr. Seaton, Secretary Howell, Dr. Fritz, Mr. Parham, Mr. Tanner, and Board support staff.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive Session Removed

<u>RETURN TO OPEN SESSION</u>

II. Approval of Athletics Contracts

General Counsel Terry Parham presented the following Athletics contract for approval.

 Employment Agreement for Assistant Football Coach/Special Teams Coordinator Joe DeCamillis

Dr. Smith made a motion to approve the employment agreement for Assistant Football Coach Joe DeCamillis as presented. Mr. Westbrook. seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion was approved.

III. Adjournment

Chair Newton declared the meeting adjourned at 5:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cameron Howell Secretary