Skip to Content

Facilities Department

Our Team

It is our responsibility to develop and manage over 13 million square feet of buildings, including parks, parking lots, athletic fields and equestrian facilities. 

Facilities Associate Vice Presidents

James "Jim" D. Demarest

James "Jim" D. Demarest  | Associate Vice President, Facilities Services

The Facilities Services team handles all facilities service requests as well as maintenance, custodial services, landscaping and grounds, signage and more for the USC community. Jim has over 35 years of experience managing higher education facilities, including the University of Nebraska, Old Dominion University and Illinois State University where he served as Executive Director of Facilities Management. He earned his B.S. in Education from Nebraska Wesleyan University. He served on the board of directors for the national APPA organization (Association of Higher Education Facilities Officers) and as president of the South Carolina APPA chapter. Presently, he sits on the SCAPPA board of directors. 

Derek S. Gruner

Derek S. Gruner, RA, LEED AP, | University Architect, Associate Vice President of Facilities Planning, Design and Construction

The Planning, Design and Construction team creates new projects within the state procurement system, guides projects through approvals, works closely with private architectural and engineering firms, documents space management and other property matters. Derek has over 30 years of experience in master planning, programming, architectural design and construction administration. A former principal at a Columbia architectural and engineering firm, his projects have included university, corporate, institutional, athletic, historic preservation and adaptive reuse. Derek holds a Bachelor of Architecture degree from the College of Architecture and Urban Studies at the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.

 


Facilities Planning, Design and Construction Directory

Name Title Email Phone
Felicia Poston Director of Administration and Finance postonf@mailbox.sc.edu 7-5306
Tom Opal Director of Facilities Planning, Design and Construction tnopal@fmc.sc.edu 7-7076
Jeff Abrams Project Manager jabrams@fmc.sc.edu 7-3594
Linda Ciaccia Project Manager/Architect - Design Services lciaccia@fmc.sc.edu

7-0424

Ann Derrick Project Manager aderrick@fmc.sc.edu

7-5811

Pete Fisher Project Manager pfisher@fmc.sc.edu 7-9396
Chris Geary Project Manager cgeary@email.sc.edu 7-5816
Emily Jones Project Manager/Landscape Architect efjones@fmc.sc.edu 7-7592
Jerry Knox Project Manager knoxjl3@mailbox.sc.edu 7-8256
Al Lindsay Project Manager lindsaaa@mailbox.sc.edu 7-1140
Christian Mergner Project Manager cmergner@fmc.sc.edu 7-4569
Lee Miller Project Manager mille979@mailbox.sc.edu 7-2834
Robin Zimmerman Senior Interior Designer robinz@fmc.sc.edu 7-4964

Facilities Department


    Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

    ©