Skip to Content

Division of Human Resources


Holidays

The University of South Carolina observes the same number of holidays as other state agencies even though the days on which the holidays are observed may differ because of the academic schedule. When a university holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday the holiday will be observed on the preceding Friday, or the following Monday. 


Holiday Schedules 

The following dates have been approved as the official university holidays in 2018 and 2019.

2018 Holiday Schedule 
New Year's Day Monday, January 1, 2018
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 15
National Memorial Day Monday, May 28
Independence Day Wednesday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 3
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 22
Day After Thanksgiving Friday, November 23
Christmas Eve  Monday, December 24
Christmas Day Tuesday, December 25
Day After Christmas Wednesday, December 26
December Holiday  Thursday, December 27
December Holiday  Friday, December 28
December Holiday Monday, December 31
New Year’s Day (first 2019 holiday) Tuesday, January 1
2019
2019 Holiday Schdule
New Year's Day Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 21
National Memorial Day Monday, May 27
Independence Day Thursday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 2
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 28
Day After Thanksgiving Friday, November 29
Christmas Eve  Tuesday, December 24
Christmas Day Wednesday, December 25
Day After Christmas Thursday, December 26
December Holiday  Friday, December 27
December Holiday  Monday, December 30
December Holiday Tuesday, December 31
New Year’s Day (first 2020 holiday) Wednesday, January 1, 2020


Holiday Leave

Holidays are to be taken on the day designated in the university holiday schedule unless it is necessary for the employee to be at work. To the extent possible, prior notice will be given to employees who must work on holidays. All holiday leave must be reported through the university’s time and attendance management system (ITAMS) or other applicable time recording system. For more information about entering time, or for additional details about holiday leave, please visit the Policies and Procedures section of this site.