Skip to Content

Division of Human Resources

Search Committee


Michelle Bryan
Associate Vice President, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Doug Foster 
Division of Information Technology, Vice President and Chief Information Officer


Christian Anderson
College of Education, Associate Professor of Educational Leadership and Policies

Amber Fallucca Provost Office
Provost Office, Director of the Quality Enhancement Plan, Center for Integrative and Experiential Learning

Tayloe Harding
Dean, School of Music 

Jed Lyons
College of Engineering and Computing, Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor

Drew Newton
Director of Academic and Career Advising at Midlands Technical College and Chair of the UofSC LGBTQ+ Alumni Council

Silvia Patricia Rios Husain
Division of Student Affairs and Academic Support, Associate Vice President for Student Success

Reedy Newton
Student Body President

Lee Augenblick
Graduate Student Association Cabinet Member

Administrative Support

Melody Boland
Division of Student Affairs and Academic Support, Associate Ombuds for Undergraduate Students

Stacy Fritz
Office of the President, Interim Chief of Staff and Search Coordinator

Meeting Notices

The search committee will meet on the following dates:

The committee met on March 28 at 4:00 p.m. [pdf]


  1. Introduction of search committee members
  2. President Pastides will charge the search committee
  3. The Office of General Counsel will provide legal guidelines for the search
  4. The Office of Civil Rights and Title IX will provide guidelines for the search
  5.  Review position description
  6. Discuss the duration and location for posting advertisements
  7. Discuss the timeline for the search process

Meeting Minutes [pdf]

The committee met on April 20 at 11:30 a.m. [pdf]


  1. Introductory remarks – Michelle Bryan and Doug Foster, co-chairs
  2. Search committee and consultant introductions – Tom Shandley and William Kibler
  3. Role of Academic Search - Discuss preliminary search timetable and tentative dates for future meetings
  4. Discuss position profile and minimum/desired attributes and qualifications
  5. Confidentiality considerations and code of ethics – Tom Shandley and William Kibler
  6. Other items
  7. Adjournment 

The committee met on May 23, 2022. [pdf]


           I. Call to order – Michelle Bryan, search committee co-chair
          II. Opening comments – Michelle Bryan and Doug Foster, search committee co-chairs
         III. Review status of the search to date – Tom Shandley, Academic Search
         IV. Introduction to the website – Lauren Merriam, Academic Search
          V. Appropriate interview questions/protocols – Bill Kibler, Academic Search
         VI. Introduction to the candidate review exercise and candidate rating form – Bill Kibler, Academic Search
        VII. Motion to enter executive session – Michelle Bryan, search committee, co-chair
       VIII. Review of candidate # 1 materials – Tom Shandley, Academic Search
          IX. Discussion of candidate #1 – Tom Shandley, Academic Search
           X. Review of candidate # 2 materials – Bill Kibler, Academic Search
          XI. Discussion of candidate #2 – Bill Kibler, Academic Search
         XII. Motion to exit executive session – Michelle Bryan, search committee, co-chair
        XIII. Review of search timetable and next steps - Bill Kibler, Academic Search

                    Deadline for full consideration – June 6, 2022

                    Late submissions?

                   Submission of “top 10” unranked candidates of interest –

                   By June 8 at NOON send candidates to:        

                   Semifinalist selection meeting – June 9, 2022

           XIV. Other items
            XV. Training on evaluating diversity statements – Michelle Bryan and Michelle Hardee, UofSC
         XV1. Adjournment – Michelle Bryan, search committee co-chair

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.