Skip to Content

Division of Human Resources


Lean Practitioners

UofSC's Lean Community of Practice is made up of employees and managers from across the university system. These trained practitioners are equipped with ideas, methods and tools for making processes simpler, faster, better and less costly.

If you want to learn more about Lean-powered improvement, reach out to one of the practitioners listed below.

There are three levels [pdf] of Lean learning, practice and leadership. Lean learners are required to have at least 12 contact hours of in-class training for Yellow Belt status. Lean practitioners earn different levels of expertise by putting Lean methods and tools to work. 

Lean Practitioners 

Name Level of Expertise Title Contact Information
Nathan Strong Lean Learner (Yellow Belt) and Practitioner Director of Organizational and Professional Development, Division of Human Resources strongn@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-3508
Kim Pruitt Lean Learner (Yellow Belt) and Practitioner  Assistant Director of Organizational Development, Division of Human Resources kpruitt2@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-3529
Laurel Eddins  Lean Learner (Black Belt) and Practitioner  University Technology Services leddins@mailbox.sc.edu
803-463-3366 or 803-777-8117  
Alicia Bervine Lean Learner (Yellow Belt) and Practitioner  Director of Human Resources, Student Affairs bervine@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-4898
Michelle Bridge  Lean Learner (Yellow Belt) and Practitioner  Director of Finance, Student Affairs, Academic Support bridgem@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-3952 
Jennifer McKay  Lean Learner (Yellow Belt) and Practitioner  Business Analyst, Division of Human Resources  jmckay@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-3526  
Lesley Nussbaum  Lean Learner (Yellow Belt) and Practitioner  Director of Remote HR Services, Division of Human Resources lnussbau@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-0467
Belinda Ogorek Lean Learner (Yellow Belt) and Practitioner Director HR Services and Operations, Division of Human Resources ogorekb@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-3259
Nancy Derrick Lean Learner (Yellow Belt) and Practitioner Director of Finance and Personnel, Student Life dxqns3@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-3015 
Janie Kerzan Lean Learner (Yellow Belt) and Practitioner Community Outreach Director, Student Life  mcdowj@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-9886
Lauren Martini Olson Lean Learner (Yellow Belt) and Practitioner Associate Director of Programs, Student Affairs/Student Life, Campus Recreation martinlc@mailbox.sc.edu
803-576-9378
Lenora Reese Lean Learner (Yellow Belt) and Practitioner Senior Manager for Training and Leadership Development, College of Social Work, Center for Child and Family Studies reeselb@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-9264
Jennifer Webb Lean Learner (Yellow Belt) and Practitioner Program Manager, Curriculum Development, College of Social Work, Center for Child and Family Studies jwebb@mailbox.sc.edu 
803-777-8003
Felissa Carter-Moore Lean Learner (Yellow Belt) Director of Administrative Operations and Chief Financial Officer, College of Social Work fcarter@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-3349
Greg Cherry Lean Learner (Yellow Belt) UTS Service Desk and Support Manager, University Technology cherryg@mailbox.sc.edu 
803-777-2434
Bridget Leslie Lean Learner (Yellow Belt) Director of UTS Business Office, University Technology Services leslie3@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-9721
Emily San Jose Davis Lean Learner (Yellow Belt) Associate Director, Student Services, Distributed Learning Support Services sanjose@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-7211 
Daniel Brown Participant IT Director, SC College of Pharmacy  brown248@sccp.sc.edu
803-777-3753
Libby Cross Participant  Associate Director of Operations, Graduate School crosse@mailbox.sc.edu 
803-777-1553
Shelly Dempsey Participant  Director of On your Time Initiatives, Provost Office sdempsey@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-9441
Marvita Franklin Participant   Project Manager Leadership and Talent Development, College of Social Work, Center for Child and Family Studies marvita@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-2146
Maureen Grewe Participant   Director of Student Conduct, Student Affairs, Provost Office grewe@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-4333
Moryah Jackson Participant   Assistant Director, Diversity and Inclusion/Community Engagement, Provost Office mjackso2@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-9871
Geniese James Participant   Director of Information Resources, Provost Office gjames@mailbox.sc.edu 
803-777-2212
Kris Mayer Participant   Administrative Coordinator, Office of the Vice President for Human Resources kmayer@mailbox.sc.edu
803-777-5949
Janet Meredith Participant   Manager, Office of On Your Time Initiatives meredith@mailbox.sc.edu 
803-777-6060