Senior Citizen Free Tuition Program
If you are a South Carolina resident who is at least 60 years old, State law provides you tuition exemption so that you can take classes at a state college or university tuition free on a space-available basis.
Fees Not Included in Free Tuition
Lab fees, matriculation fees and program fees, etc. are not exempt and must be paid by the student.
You qualify for free tuition if:
- You are 60 years old or older.
- You have been a South Carolina resident for at least 12 months.
- You are admitted to the University of South Carolina.
How to Apply
Be sure you've completed the application process before trying to register.
- Submit an application.
If you are not currently enrolled as a student at USC, you will need to review the requirements and apply through the Office of Undergraduate Admissions or the Graduate School. If you have any questions about the application process, you can call the Office of Undergraduate Admissions at 803-777-7700 or the Graduate School at 803-777-4243.
- Receive your VIP ID.
Your VIP ID is a series of numbers used to identify you at the university. Once accepted to the university, you will receive your VIP ID in your acceptance packet. Students currently enrolled at USC already have this number.
- Verify your citizenship.
Once you receive your VIP ID, you can complete the SC Residency Certification Form through my.sc.edu. You'll need your VIP ID to log in.
- Obtain free tuition status. Visit Self Service Carolina and log in. Click the Student tab to access and complete the South Carolina Residency Certification form. Once complete, the Residency Office will update your records. After you have registered, your account will reflect a senior citizen tuition credit. For questions concerning SC Residency, email a Residency Official at firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Have your advising hold removed.
Email Helen Le at email@example.com or call 803-777-9850 with your full name and VIP ID to have your hold removed. If you are already enrolled in a degree program, you'll need to contact your college or school adviser. You must have your advising hold removed before you are able to register for classes. Please note: recipients of the tuition waiver are eligible to register on the first day of classes.
- May 1st for summer admission
- July 1st for fall admission
- November 1st for spring admission
To audit a course, complete this form.
Asking For An Override
Only the professor and department offering the course can offer an override for you to join a closed course or courses requiring special permission.
If you need help contacting the department for your course, please let us know.