Skip to Content

Office of the Provost

Banner Image

Faculty Achievement Awards

SEC Faculty Achievement Awards recognize the work of world renowned faculty members with outstanding records in teaching, research and scholarship.

All recipients of the SEC Faculty Achievement Award receive an honorarium from the SEC. The top recipient will be named SEC Professor of the Year, and is honored during the annual SEC awards dinner and recognized in conjunction with the SEC Symposium.  Winners of individual college awards and the overall honoree are announced in May

Academic deans may nominate an individual from his or her college for the SECU Faculty Achievement Award.  The Provost will determine the winner and submit the name of the USC recipient to the SECU. To be eligible for the award, a faculty member shall:

  1. Be a teacher/scholar
  2. Have achieved the rank of professor
  3. Have a record of extraordinary teaching
  4. Have an outstanding record of scholarship that is recognized nationally and/or internationally
  5. Not be a past SEC Faculty Achievement award winner

For further information regarding the Faculty Achievement Award, please contact:

Derlene Lowder


Past Recipients

2016 Claudia Benitez-Nelson Marine Science
2015 Marina Lomazov Music
2014 Kenneth Reifsnider Mechanical Engineering
2013 Susan Cutter Geography
2012 Scott Price Music


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.