Skip to Content

Coronavirus: Get complete details about the university's response to COVID-19.

Office of the Provost

award winners

Internal Awards

Recognizing Outstanding Faculty

The Office of the Provost prides itself on the high caliber faculty employed by the University of South Carolina. Our faculty are recognized each spring with university-wide awards for teaching, research, service and advising. Nomination guidelines and the online nomination form are available on each award page below.

Award Deadlines

Please note that each award is a one-time career award and former winners are not eligible for re-nomination. This does not preclude past winner nominations for different faculty awards. For complete submission information, please see each award.

Award Nomination Deadline Submission Deadline
Ada B. Thomas
Outstanding Advisor Award
Dec. 13, 2019 Feb. 7, 2020
Carolina Trustees Professorship   Feb. 7, 2020
Clinical Teaching Award Dec. 13, 2019 Feb. 7, 2020
Garnet Apple Award for
Teaching Innovation
Feb. 7, 2020  
Mungo Distinguished
Professor of the Year Award
Feb. 7, 2020  
Mungo Teaching Awards Dec. 13, 2019 Feb. 7, 2020
Russell Research Awards Jan. 10, 2020 Feb. 7, 2020
USC Educational Foundation
Research Awards
Jan. 10, 2020 Feb. 7, 2020
USC Educational Foundation
Outstanding Service Award
  Feb. 7, 2020

Other Faculty Awards

Palmetto College offers the John J. Duffy Teaching Award, the Chris P. Plyler Excellence in Service Award, and the Denise R. Shaw Excellence in Scholarship Award to recognize outstanding faculty at the Lancaster, Salkehatchie, Sumter and Union campuses.

University Housing and University 101 Programs presents the John N. Gardner Inspirational Faculty Award each academic year to a faculty member who encourages students living on-campus to intentionally select and participate in meaningful experiences within and beyond the classroom.

The Office of the Vice President for Research and Office of Undergraduate Research offer the Undergraduate Research Mentor Award to recognize and reward excellence in mentoring undergraduate researchers.

The Office of Student Conduct and Academic Integrity recognizes that faculty members and instructors play a significant role in developing students of integrity. To honor this contribution, we are pleased to present the University of South Carolina Integrity Award to a distinguished faculty member or instructor. Recipients of this award proactively and effectively implement a culture of academic integrity, show care and concern both for students and their development, and promote the Carolinian Creed.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.