Skip to Content

Office of the Vice President for Research

Strategic Planning Group Three

Strategic Planning Group Three works to enhance the University of South Carolina’s outstanding research community in support of our system-wide strategic plan, For South Carolina: A Path to Excellence.

The Office of the Vice President for Research is proud to coordinate the university’s Strategic Planning Group Three. This group of key university stakeholders meets regularly to strategize how to meet Strategic Priority Three goals of promoting research excellence and innovation through enhancement of Phase I and Phase II objectives.

 

Strategic Planning Group Three Members

Dr. Prakash Nagarkatti
Vice President for Research
prakash@mailbox.sc.edu

 

Dr. Cheryl Addy
Vice Provost and Dean of Faculty
Office of the Provost
caddy@mailbox.sc.edu

 

Steve Beckham
Federal Legislative Liaison
Office of Government and Community Relations
beckham@mailbox.sc.edu

 

Dr. Brandon Bookstaver
Associate Professor
College of Pharmacy
bookstaver@cop.sc.edu

 

Maggie Carson
Graduate Student Association President
Arnold School of Public Health
carsonma@email.sc.edu

 

Kelly Epting
Associate Vice President
Office of Finance and Budget
eptingk@mailbox.sc.edu

 

Dr. Hossein Haj-Hariri
Dean
College of Engineering and Computing
haj-hariri@cec.sc.edu

 

Laura Kammerer
Communications Strategist
Office of Communications and Public Affairs
laurakam@mailbox.sc.edu

 

Bill Kirkland
Executive Director
Office of Economic Engagement
Kirkla28@mailbox.sc.edu

 

Dr. Xiaoming Li
Professor
Arnold School of Public Health
xiaoming@mailbox.sc.edu

 

Dr. Ana Lopez-DeFede
Professor
College of Social Work
adefede@mailbox.sc.edu

 

Dr. Mike Matthews
Associate Vice President for Research
Office of the Vice President for Research
matthews@cec.sc.edu

 

Todd McCaffrey
Senior Director of Strategic Partnerships
Office of Veterans and Military Services
mccafft@mailbox.sc.edu

 

Jennifer McCormack
Executive Director
Giving at South Carolina
mccormjn@mailbox.sc.edu

 

Sarisha Menon
Undergraduate Student Representative
South Carolina Honors College
smenon@email.sc.edu

 

Julie Morris
Director
Office of Undergraduate Research
jamorris@mailbox.sc.edu

 

Issy Rushton
Undergraduate Student Representative
Student Body President
irushton@email.sc.edu

 

Dr. Alex Rutkovsky
President of the UofSC Postdoctoral Association
Department of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology
alex.rutkovsky@uscmed.sc.edu

 

Paul Sagona
Executive Director
UofSC Research Computing
sagona@sc.edu

 

Jean Saunders-Blanks
Director
Office of International Scholars
jean@sc.edu

 

Dr. Jeff Twiss
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies
College of Arts and Sciences
twiss@mailbox.sc.edu

 

Dr. Tracey Weldon
Interim Dean Graduate School and Vice Provost for Graduate Education
College of Arts and Sciences
weldont@mailbox.sc.edu

 

Support Staff

Staff members with the Office of the Vice President for Research support the efforts of Strategic Planning Group Three.

Dr. Lauren Clark
Research Program Manager
clarkll@mailbox.sc.edu

 

Debbie Gipson
Research Administrative Manager
gipsond@mailbox.sc.edu

 

Elizabeth Renedo
Research Communications Manager
renedoe@mailbox.sc.edu


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©