Skip to Content

Department of English Language and Literature

  • Banner Image

English Department Congratulates Undergraduate Award Winners for 2018

Department Recognizes Exceptional Undergraduates

> In the senior class, Mikaella Antonio received the Cary K. Smith, Jr. Award, Rose Steptoe received the Merrill G. Christophersen Award, and Benjamin Crawford, Davin Hylton, Rachel Klink, and Erin Welty shared the Distinguished Senior Award.

> Among the juniors, Hannah Bauer, David Flowers, and John Huylu were awarded the N. G. Belser Scholarship, Hannah Cherry received the Peter Mackey Scholarship Award, Jessica Gustines and Alexis Johnston received the Polston Scholarship Award, and the Heide Hilburn Memorial Award went to Elizabeth Schell.

> The Distinguished Juniors Award recipients were Thomas Bedenbaugh, Caroline Fairey, Riley Farmer, and Grace Riley.

> For sophomores, Nellie Hildebrandt and Jillian Vanderpool received the George Walker Waring Award.

> Kathleen Blackwood received Honors recognition with the John K. Hoey Endowment Award.     

> In the department’s critical and creative writing contests, Kathleen Blackwood took the J. S. Reynolds Essay Contest Award for her paper entitled “‘…I only used my brains against the gentlemen…’: Lorelei Lee, 1920s Advertising Culture, and the Destabilization of Female Commodification.”

> The Havilah Babcock Poetry Contest Award went to Anna Phillips for her poem “Acquired Colognes.”

> Nellie Hildebrandt received the Havilah Babcock Short Story Contest Award for “Translate, Please.”

> The Heide Hilburn Poetry Award went to Robin Hendricks.

The recipients were recognized on the University’s Awards Day and at an English department reception. We wish all our graduates and continuing students a fantastic summer!


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.