Skip to Content

My Arts and Sciences

Announcing the members of the Faculty By-Laws Task Force

Dean Joel H. Samuels sent the following announcement to faculty on Monday, October 17.

Dear Colleagues,

I am writing to share the members of the College of Arts and Sciences Faculty By-Laws Task Force:

Chair: Nina Levine, Associate DeanMatthew Boylan, Professor, MathematicsLana Burgess, Clinical Professor, School of Visual Art and DesignNoah Gardiner, Assistant Professor, Religious StudiesSayward Harrison, Assistant Professor, PsychologyKathryn Luchok, Senior Instructor, Women’s and Gender Studies Stephanie Mitchem, Professor, Women’s and Gender Studies and Religious StudiesMarj Pena, Associate Professor, Biological Sciences

Because the number of candidates did not exceed the advertised number of spaces on the task force, all candidates were elected by acclamation. I sought the input of Faculty Senate Chair Audrey Korsgaard, among others, in determining how to proceed given that we had fewer nominees than positions. The task force is now complete as constituted above.

The Faculty By-Laws Task Force will be responsible for drafting an initial set of by-laws for the College of Arts and Sciences. In addition to researching and writing the document itself, the committee’s work will entail developing a college-wide process for review and approval. This is an important process for the entire College, and I am grateful to all who have committed to serving on the task force. I expect that the task force will convene meetings in the spring semester to solicit faculty input as they move forward in this process, which I hope will be completed for a College-wide vote during the 2023-24 academic year, if not before.


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.