Skip to Content

College of Information and Communications

  • banner

    Farrar Award 2017

    R. Joseph Parrott receives the 2017 Ronald T. and Gayla D. Farrar Award from committee chairman Kenneth Campbell and Bradley Farrar.

Farrar Award in Media & Civil Rights History

The Ronald T. and Gayla D. Farrar Award in Media & Civil Rights History, given biennially, recognizes the best journal article or chapter in an edited collection on the historical relationship between the media and civil rights published during the previous two years. 

About the 2019 Farrar Award

The Farrar Award is presented in honor of Ronald and Gayla Farrar.  Dr. Farrar is Professor Emeritus of the School of Journalism and Mass Communications. Recipients of the award receive a plaque and $1,000.  The winner will present his or her work in a featured address at the Media & Civil Rights History Symposium scheduled for Friday and Saturday, March 8-9, 2019, in Columbia, South Carolina.  See previous recipients of the award.

Call for Articles and Chapters

Submitted articles or chapters should be works of historical scholarship and must have been published in 2017 or 2018. We encourage submissions that address the media and civil rights from a range of local/national/transnational contexts, periods, and perspectives.

Scholars may nominate and submit their own work or the work of others. A national panel of experts will judge the contest. 

Email PDF of submission by Dec. 17, 2018 to:

Dr. Kenneth Campbell
Media & Civil Rights History Symposium
School of Journalism and Mass Communications
University of South Carolina
Columbia, SC 29208