Skip to Content

College of Engineering and Computing


Alumni Awards

The College of Engineering and Computing awards two Alumni of the Year honors each year – the Distinguished Alumni Award and the Young Alumni of the Year Award.

Recipients are recognized for professional distinction through outstanding leadership, contributions to the field of engineering and computing, creativity and entrepreneurship, as well as service to society, the professional community, and to the department, college, or university.

The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes an individual who has made notable contributions to his or her profession, community and university.

The Young Alumni Award recognizes an individual who graduated within the last ten years and who shows the potential to make a positive impact professionally and serve as an example for other recent graduates. 

The awards are given out during the college's annual homecoming event.

Past Recipients

Distinguished Alumni

2017 Barbara Rusinko, '98, Mechanical Engineering
2016 William A. “Bill” Fox, '78 Civil Engineering

2015 J. David Waugh, '54, Civil Engineering
2014 Casimir "Casey" Borowski, '69 Chemical Engineering
2013 Albert Kwong, '74 Computer Science
2012 Hamilton Lott, Jr., '72 Civil Engineering
2003 Thomas L. Gregory, '49 Electrical Engineering
2002 M. Bert Storey, '51 Civil Engineering
2001 Henry M. Rothberg, '44 Chemical Engineering and Robert L. Sumwalt, Jr. '49 Civil Engineering
2000 Larry E. Nunnery, Jr., '70 Chemical Engineering
1999 Joseph H. Gibbons, '56 Chemical Engineering
1998 Raphael Lee, MD, '71 Electrical Engineering
1997 Andrew H. Card, Jr., '71 Civil Engineering
1996 H. Bard Allison, II, '53 Mechanical Engineering
1995 Benny T. Bootle, Jr., '53 Mechanical Engineering
1994 Allan M. Quick, '68 Electrical Engineering
1993 W. H. Best, '58 Mechanical Engineering
1992 Edward L. Addison, '50 Electrical Engineering
1991 Virgil C. Summer, '68 Mechanical Engineering and Irwin Kahn, '35 Civil Engineering
1990 Wilbur Smith, '32 Electrical Engineering
1988 John E. Swearingen, '38 Chemical Engineering

Outstanding Young Alumni

2016 Jeremy Greenberger, '14 Computer Science
2015 Kelvin Moore, '06 Chemical Engineering
2015 Bobby Scott, '10 Electrical Engineering
2014 Kari Morrison, '09 Civil Engineering
2013 Gopal Chakrabarti, '07 Chemical Engineering
2012 Lauren Jackson Caldwell, '06 Chemical Engineering
2003 Deepal S. Eliatamby, '88 Civil Engineering
2002 M. Scot Wingo, '90 Computer Engineering
2001 Jeffrey F. McElroy, '86 Electrical Engineering
2000 David A. King, '83 Mechanical Engineering
1999 Michael Margotta, '83 Electrical Engineering
1998 Mike Anderer, '85 Chemical Engineering
1997 Jay Alexander, '79 Chemical Engineering

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.