Skip to Content

South Carolina Honors College

Chandler Curtis

Ask me about ... studying abroad, pre-med, undergraduate research and being involved in Greek life.

I am a junior from Sumter, South Carolina majoring in Biology and minoring in Health Promotion Education and Behavior. I am also on the pre-med track and plan to become a pediatric oncologist or neurologist. 

My advice for prospective students: Your journey is your own and no one else’s. This goes for the college search and decision process, as well as what you become interested and involved in once you begin college. While other people’s opinions are valid, when choosing your home for the next four years, make your decision based on your heart and where you feel you will be the happiest. What works for others might not work for you, and that is okay. Once you accept that, you will be able to make decisions that are right for your unique journey, and you will get the most out of your college experience. 

My advice for current students: Your college experience is what you make of it. Every day, you have the choice to get involved on campus, be a leader, and make new friends. I believe that every student at UofSC is here for a reason, and you will be able to find people and things that interest you if you try. Take the time to make the most of every day and take advantage of what UofSC has to offer. 

My favorite thing about the honors college: The classroom environment. In all of my honors classes, my classmates are willing to express their ideas, collaborate to figure out problems, and work together outside of class. I love seeing familiar faces in my honors classes and having people I can call if I need help or to get notes when I miss a class.

My reason for choosing the SCHC: I chose the Honors College because it felt right immediately. For someone who lives less than an hour away from campus, I did not expect to be drawn toward the Honors College or UofSC, but I couldn’t help but be interested after my tour and introduction to the honors college. I craved the smaller school within a large school experience, especially because my graduating high school class only had 70 people. I was afraid of getting lost in the crowd, and the Honors College offered everything I had hoped for to begin my college experience. 

My nickname and why: My nickname is Peaches because when I was in middle school, I guest starred on a cooking show that featured canning. When asked what I would like to can on my own, I responded “peaches,” but I paused and stuttered and completely blew my moment of fame. 

Something new I’d like to learn: How to cook. Like a typical college student, my current cooking skills consist of heating up frozen meals, so I would love to expand my cooking abilities. 

Songs I’ve completely memorized: Every Taylor Swift song that has ever been written. I met Taylor when I was 12, and I have been a die-hard fan ever since. 

Favorite childhood memory: Climbing trees at my grandma’s house with my brother. We used to climb the tall magnolia trees until we would get so high that she couldn’t see us when she came to tell us it was time to come inside. We always made it a competition to see who could climb the highest.

My pet peeve: Sandy sheets. When I go to the beach, I have to wash my feet before getting in bed, and I never sit under my covers unless I am clean and going to sleep. I can’t sleep with a dirty bed, and that has been a pet peeve of mine since I was little. 

My strength: Being able to keep my composure under heavy stress or pressure. I am able to stay calm in high-stress situations, and it takes a lot to get me shaken up. I have also always been able to juggle many responsibilities without becoming overwhelmed. 

My dream job: If I had no other factors to consider, my dream job would be a trauma surgeon. I love the idea of the high pressure and high adrenaline situations that would arise every day, and after watching 12 seasons of Grey’s Anatomy, I feel like I already know my way around the ER. I also want to have a family and be able to take time off of work, which would be difficult to do with the lifestyle of a trauma surgeon.

My escape: At the lake, probably on a boat. We have a lake house that has been in my family for three generations, and I spend every weekend there in the summer. Being at the lake lets me escape from all reality.


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©