Skip to Content

School of Medicine Greenville

The Gold Humanism Honor Society

The Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) at the UofSC School of Medicine Greenville has been established to recognize medical students, residents and faculty that exemplify a commitment to excellence in humanistic clinical care, leadership compassion and dedication to service. Our school’s GHHS chapter is supported nationally by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation.

Eligibility & Selection

During the spring of their third year, UofSC School of Medicine Greenville students are encouraged to nominate fellow third-year students that serve as outstanding examples of humanism and professionalism. Nominated students are then confirmed by members of the faculty and staff. Eligibility requires good academic standing.


Activities & Awards

Gold Humanism Honor Society Induction
The UofSC School of Medicine Greenville hosts a ceremony to induct the Gold Humanism Honor Society’s newest members and honor those that exemplify the characteristics of humanism and professionalism in practice.

Michael Bell
Katherine Brown
Austin Foster
Lindsay Grasso
Danetta Green
Natalie Ivey
Harrison Lancaster
Debby Lee
Davlyn Luke
Tristan Mackey
Rose Nganga
Akhila Padi
Madison Ritter
Lauren Tyler
Parker Zimmerman

Dory Askins
Mikaela Conley
Keiko Cooley
Victoria Dillard
Jasmine Dennis
Connor Evins
Win Holt
Dillon Isaac
Michael O'Brien
Zach Reynolds
Jacob Ritchie
Jennifer Santos
Kellie Shell
John Swetenburg
Hallie Weems

Benjamin Averkamp
Carrie Bailes
Alexa Bianchi
Tyler Fleming
Amber Frazier
Eliza Hardy
Robert Hutchinson
Julia Moss
Matthew Scalise
Megan Schmalz
Abigail Stoker
Robert Taylor
Sarah Taylor
Chibueze Ubah
Leah Wormack



Jason Hill
Cassidy Hood
Ryan Dean
Patrick Kent
Quinn Hunt
Corrine Dinges

Aniel Rao
Thomas Young
Frank Clark

Darius Blanding
Billy Clark
Kathryn Dumas
Jessica Edgar
Amber Gaspard
Wesley Gilette
Laila Hussein
Kathryn Lucas
Julie Mobley
Jasmine Pendergrass
Brian Peterson
Bradley Phillips
Ben Snyder
Ramsey Ugarte
Adam Young



Student Clinician’s Ceremony
The Student Clinician’s Ceremony (SCC) is designed to provide guidance, information and support as medical students transition into their clinical years. The event is facilitated by our chapter of GHHS and it aims to address some of the anxieties felt by students entering their clerkships and provides the opportunity to revisit the oath taken during the White Coat Ceremony. The SCC provides a forum for collective and reflective discussion of the students’ experiences. The ceremony also underscores the challenges and imperatives these future doctors face to providing humanistic care to patients at the same time as they are pressed to demonstrate high standards of skill performance.

Humanism & Excellence in Teaching Award
As part of the Student Clinician Ceremony, the Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award is presented to Prisma Health–Upstate residents, selected by our students, who demonstrate a strong commitment to teaching and the compassionate treatment of patients and families, students and colleagues.

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award
The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award is presented annually to one graduating student and one faculty member who demonstrates both clinical excellence and outstanding compassion in the delivery of care and who shows respect for patients, their families, and healthcare colleagues.


Student- Connor Evins
Faculty- Aniel Rao, MD

Student- Julia Moss
Faculty- Page Bridges, MD

Student- Adam Young
Faculty- Frank Clark, MD

Student- Ben Ramsey
Faculty- Christy Lee, MD

Student- Megan Bradham
Faculty- John Emerson, MD

Student- Maglin Halsey
Faculty- Meenu Jindal, MBBS/MD




Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.