Skip to Content

School of Medicine Greenville


The Christopher Michael McManus Memorial Scholarship

The scholarship was established to honor the life and memory of Dr. Christopher Michael McManus, a nationally recognized and board certified Interventional Radiologist from the Greenville community who tragically passed away in 2013.

Awarded annually, the scholarship recognizes a student who most closely epitomizes the ideals and spirit with which Dr. McManus practiced medicine on a daily basis:

  • Commitment and dedication to the practice of medicine
  • Compassion for patients and their families
  • Personal integrity and enthusiasm
  • Intellectual and professional excellence

The recipient of the scholarship is selected from a list of rising fourth-year candidates identified by the directors of the third-year clinical clerkships as students who most exemplify the characteristics of Dr. McManus in his work with patients, families, and his peers.

Award Recipients

Mary Katherine Montes de Oca

Runner up
Adam Young
Amber Brown
Amber Gaspard
Michael Collelo




The Patricia Peeples Westmoreland Community Service Award

The Westmoreland Community Service Award was established in honor of Dr. Patricia Peeples Westmoreland for her dedication to volunteerism in the Greenville community that extended beyond her medical practice.

This award is presented to a graduating student who demonstrates attributes that reflect Dr. Westmoreland’s heart for service. Students are nominated to the selection committee for their commitment to serving the community as indicated by their activities outside of the scope of their medical school curriculum.

Award Recipients

Crystal Sosa



The Jerry E. Dempsey Award

This award is presented to a rising M3 student selected by his/her peers as the student who best exemplifies the values of the mission, vision and guiding principles of USC School of Medicine Greenville.

Award Recipients




The Peer Advocacy Award

This award is presented to a rising M3 student for demonstrating outstanding support & advocacy for fellow medical students in the pre-clinical years.

Award Recipient




The Conscious Professionalism Award

This award is presented to a rising M2 and a rising M3 student who exemplifies the principles of Conscious Professionalism in their academic work and related relationships, including qualities such as: Responsibility, Integrity, Curiosity, and Willingness to learn from experience.


The Colleges Spirit Award

This award is presented to two students annually for outstanding commitment to the Mission and Spirit of the Colleges Program.

Award Recipients

Nate Teague



The Admissions Ambassador Award

This award is presented to one student annually for outstanding commitment to excellence in the recruitment of future medical scholars.

Award Recipients




Clerkship Excellence Awards

These awards are presented to graduating students for demonstrated excellence in their clinical clerkships. They are presented to students at their Senior Banquet.

Award Recipients
Excellence in Psychiatry

Katrina Morgan

Excellence in Neurology

Natalia Rincon Buendia

Outstanding Medical Student in Family Medicine

Alicia Firestone

Outstanding Medical Student in Pediatrics

Raquel Denis

Outstanding Medical Student in Surgery

Kalie Goodman

Outstanding Medical Student in Internal Medicine

Brian Jones

Excellence in Obstetrics and Gynecology

Alyssa Adkins

Outstanding Medical Student in Emergency Medicine

Ethan Brown