#### **Arnold School of Public Health**

University of South Carolina

### 2018 James A. Keith

# **Excellence in Teaching Award**

#### **About the Award**

The James A. Keith Excellence in Teaching Award, established in memory of the late professor and associate dean of the Arnold School of Public Health, is designed to recognize excellence in teaching at the school. The Keith Teaching Award, which includes a \$1,000 honorarium and a commemorative plaque, is presented annually at the Arnold School of Public Health Hooding Ceremony in May.

#### **Eligibility**

All full-time faculty members who have been at the Arnold School of Public Health for at least three years are eligible for the award. However, previous award winners must wait a minimum of five years before being considered again.

#### Who Can Nominate?

Nominations may be made by students, faculty, alumni, and administrators in the Arnold School of Public Health. Note: Self-nomination and self-solicitation of nomination are prohibited. Selection committee members may not nominate faculty members for this award.

# Procedure to Nominate a Faculty Member

To nominate a faculty member, complete a nomination form and submit to the Arnold School of Public Health Office of Research. Each nominee may be asked to provide appropriate documentation, so a justification of the nominee's contribution is optional. The nomination form is on the back of this flyer or can

www.sc.edu/publichealth

be downloaded from www.asph.sc.edu/ email/pdf/Teaching.pdf. The completed nomination form should be submitted to the Office of the Dean, Public Health Research Center Suite #422, or AWARDSPH@mailbox.sc.edu.

#### **Selection Process**

The Keith Teaching Award selection committee will select recipients of the award using the following criteria:

- Record of sustained excellence in classroom teaching and informal mentorship of students,
- Demonstration of exemplary knowledge of subject matter,
- Skill in facilitation of learning, and
- Ability to inspire and motivate the learner.

Note: The selection committee reserves the right not to make an award.

The Arnold School Office of Faculty Affairs and Curriculum will provide teaching information from the most recent one or two annual review documents and will request each department chair (or program director if applicable) to endorse each nominee, providing a rank order if there are multiple nominations from one unit. Using the nomination letters, annual review, and chair's endorsement, the Selection Committee will screen the nominations and select up to five for whom additional information will be collected, including a statement of teaching philosophy and letters of recommendation.

#### **MONDAY**

# March



#### **Nomination Deadline**

If you have questions concerning eligibility, procedures, or criteria for selection, please contact Jane Anderson at 777-5030 or AWARDSPH@mailbox.sc.edu.

### Selection Committee Members

Award selection will be made by a committee comprised of previous James A. Keith Excellence in Teaching award recipients from within the Arnold School of Public Health.



#### **Past Recipients**

1991	Francisco S. Sy	1999	Henry N. McKellar	2007	Angela Liese	2015	Heather Brandt
1992	James R. Hussey	2000	Roger G. Sargent	2008	Jim Hussey	2015	Raja Fayad
1993	Suzan D. Boyd	2001	Gregory A. Hand	2009	Lisa Lindley		(In Memoriam)
1994	Ann L. Coker	2002	Robert F. Valois	2010	Kara Montgomery	2016	Susan Steck
1995	Donna L. Richter	2003	J. Larry Durstine	2011	Daniela Friedman	2017	Angela McLeod
1996	Robert E. McKeown	2004	Janice C. Probst	2012	Stacy Fritz		
1997	Ruth P. Saunders	2005	Alexandra Evans	2013	Charles Adams		
1998	C. Marjorie Aelion	2006	Sara Corwin	2014	Hiram McDade		

#### **Nomination Form**

pages if necessary.

Deadline: March 5, 2018

### James A. Keith Excellence in Teaching Award

Faculty nominee:	Department:
radaty nonlineer	
(Optional) Give a brief summary of nomine	e's contributions and qualifications. Attach additional

Nominated by:	Department:	
Phone (work):	e-mail: _	

Submit completed nomination forms to the Office of the Dean at AWARDSPH@mailbox.sc.edu