Top scholars to join UofSC freshman class

The University of South Carolina will welcome some of the nation’s and the state’s top students for the university’s most valuable and prestigious scholarship program. Recipients of the Stamps, Carolina and Hamilton scholar awards for in-state students and the McNair awards for out-of-state students will join the Carolina community in August.

"We are delighted to welcome a new class of Top Scholars to the university, knowing they are among the best and brightest scholars in our state and across the nation,” says Scott Verzyl, Carolina’s associate vice president for enrollment management. "These students were selected among thousands of their peers for USC's most prestigious scholarships, and will step onto campus this fall as leaders inside the classroom and beyond. Our Top Scholars have tremendous opportunities to make this world a better place as students at USC, and later, as alumni."

More than 3,100 students applied for Carolina’s scholar awards, making it the largest and most competitive applicant pool in the university’s history. The university invited 90 scholar candidates to campus to compete for these awards. This year’s 19 McNair Scholars include students from 10 states. In-state, the three Stamps Carolina Scholars, 20 Carolina Scholars and four Hamilton Scholars come from 14 counties in South Carolina.

The Carolina Scholars Award is valued at $10,000 per year for four years. Beyond its monetary value, the scholarship provides students additional resources and support, including pairing them with a faculty mentor.

The three Stamps Carolina Scholars will receive all the benefits of the Carolina Scholars award, plus $8,000 to be used for enrichment opportunities including undergraduate research, study abroad, service projects or trips or unpaid internships during their undergraduate tenure. The Hamilton Scholars award for in-state students is valued at $7,000 per year for four years.

The Stamps Carolina Scholars are: Grace Cooney of Simpsonville; Ashley Fellers of Lexington; and Madhura Pande of Florence.

The Carolina Scholars are: Mae Chinnes of Summerville; Elizabeth “Libby” Davenport of Spartanburg; Ali El-Ali of Columbia; Sarah Eustis of Mount Pleasant; Caroline Fairey of Estill; Kylie Fletcher of Hartsville; Devin Fulmer-Key of North Augusta; Mattie Hibbs of Beaufort; Maddox Johnston of Johns Island; Kristen Livingston of Aiken; Brandon Lynch of North Myrtle Beach; Jackson Maris of Greenville; Jamie Milliff of Chapin; Suzanne Prentice of Charleston; Tanner Reagle of Columbia; Amy Reyner of Fort Mill; William Stallings of Sumter; Alexandra Tamura of Simpsonville; Frank Webb of Florence;  and Alexander Wright of Greenville.

The Hamilton Scholars are: Nathaniel Boen of Greenville; Sarai Dai of Greer; Ashley Dobson of Greenville; and Alexander Wyatt of Irmo.

The McNair Scholars Award is the most valuable and prestigious scholarship for out-of-state students. The award is valued at $15,000 per year for four years. The award also comes with a tuition reduction which translates into a scholarship package worth more than $130,800 for McNair Scholars.

McNair Scholars for 2016 are: Stephanie Barton of Germantown, Tennessee; Shelby Burnette of Kathleen, Georgia; Austin Coale of Concord, North Carolina; Lucas Dull of Cincinnati, Ohio; Rebecca Early of Supply, North Carolina; Patrick Farrar of Ponte Vedra, Florida; Claire Folk of Charlotte, North Carolina; Aidan Galloway of Maryville, Tennessee; Zachary Goldberg of Louisville, Kentucky; Noah Hyduke of Malvern, Pennsylvania; Jane Marryat of Waxhaw, North Carolina; Leah McLean of Ellicott City, Maryland; Ruhi Pitre of Ardsley, New York; Justin Reed of Union, Kentucky; Morgan Rising of Charlotte, North Carolina; John Slovensky of Atlanta, Georgia; Marinna Smith of Greensboro, North Carolina; and Cameron Wall of Overland Park, Kansas.

The McNair Scholars program began in 1998 and is supported by a $30 million gift from university alumnus Robert McNair and his wife, Janice McNair. The Carolina Scholars program was developed by the university in 1969. This is the fourth year for the Stamps Carolina Scholars program, funded through a gift from the Stamps Family Charitable Foundation, founded by Penny and E. Roe Stamps IV.

Share this Story! Let friends in your social network know what you are reading about