May 31, 2000

University Committee on Tenure and Promotions
1999-2000 Annual Report

The committee reviewed and made recommendations on requests for promotion or tenure from 54 faculty members. There were 48 requests for promotion and 28 requests for tenure.

The committee approved changes in tenure and promotion criteria and procedures for the following eight units:

The committee made recommendations to the Faculty Advisory Committee regarding proposed rewording of The Faculty Manual.

John Baynes of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry was elected UCTP chair for 2000-2001.

Working in conjunction with the Faculty Advisory Committee and the Faculty Welfare Committee, the outgoing members of UCTP selected ten candidates for election to UCTP. From this list the Faculty elected the following faculty members to three-year terms:

Respectfully submitted,

John D. Spurrier
1999-2000 UCTP Chair