usc home contact us get involved events projects and exhibits publications keepsakes history timeline leadership bicentennial home
Bicentennial Executive Committee.gif
message from the president.gif
message from the bicentennial commission.gif
executive committee.gif
bicentennial committees.gif
bicentennial staff.gif
Committee Chair Thorne Compton.jpg

F.gifrom its founding, the University of South Carolina has been engaged in enriching the lives of generations of students, exploring new vistas of knowledge and imagination, and profoundly changing life in South Carolina and the nation. While we cherish our history, we will look to the future and celebrate the University's role in transforming the lives of generations of South Carolinians. As we continue planning for our Bicentennial year, we will ask for the ideas and assistance of students, faculty, alumni and friends from across the nation. Please contact us through this website, by telephone or mail, to help us create a Bicentennial worthy of a great University.""

Committee Members.gif
Mr. Frank B. Caggiano
Clerk of the Senate

Dr. Warren J. Carson, Jr.
USC Aiken

Dr. Thorne Compton
(Chair) USC Bicentennial

The Honorable John E. Courson
South Carolina Senate

Ms. Kim Dickerson
USC Student

Mr. Malik Husser
USC Student Government Association

The Honorable Darrell Jackson
South Carolina Senate

Dr. Milton Kimpson
The PEL Group

Dr. Harry Lesesne, Ex Officio
USC Bicentennial

Dr. Pete F. Mackey
USC Presidential Communications and Research

Ms. Sally McKay, Ex Officio
USC Bicentennial

Dr. Carolyn Matalene
USC Department of English

Dr. Dennis A. Pruitt, Sr.
USC Division of Student and Alumni Services

Ms. Jane Sharar
USC Office of Special Events

Mr. Thomas S. Stepp
Secretary of Board of Trustees and University Secretary

The Honorable Kit S. Smith
Richland County Council

The Honorable Othniel H. Wienges, Jr.
Singleton Plantation

back to top
bicentennial home