usc home contact us get involved events projects and exhibits publications keepsakes history timeline leadership bicentennial home
Meet in the Middle Participating Schools.gif

COUNTY

SCHOOL

CONTACT NAME

PHONE

EMAIL

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Aiken

A. L. Corbett

Marva Tutt

803-564-1050

Mtutt@aiken.k12.sc.us

Tutoring, computer lab assistance, homework center, after-school programs

Jackson

Michelle Thomas

803-471-2237

Chelt90@hotmail.com

Tutoring, mentoring, after-school/homework help

New Ellenton

Sheneque Jackson

803-652-8200

Sjackson@aiken.k12.sc.us

Speaking to career classes, classroom assistance, tutoring

North Augusta

Donna Bradberry

803-442-6200

DonnaB10@aol.com

Mentoring, academic tutoring, language

Schofield

Beatrice McGhee

803-641-2770

Bmcghee@aiken.k12.sc.us

Homework center, tutoring, mentoring, event planning, office work

Allendale

Allendale-
Fairfax

Alexia Clamp

803-584-5330

Clampa@acs.k12.sc.us

Tutoring — reading and math

Anderson

Riverside

Libby Wood

864-646-8020

Lwood@anderson4.k12.sc.us

Tutoring, speakers for Career Day, academic assistance, mentoring

Beaufort

H.E. McCracken

Diane S. Merrick

843-706-8700

Merrickds@yahoo.com

Tutoring, after school and sports programs

Hilton Head

Sherry DiSimone

843-689-4500

Srd4044@beaufort.k12.sc.us

After-school tutoring program, mentoring

Robert Smalls

N'Kia Jones

843-322-2535

Nsj9868@beaufort.k12.sc.us

Reading assistance, grant writing, after-school programs

Whale Branch

Rosalyn Brown

843-466-3000

Rab5762@beaufort.k12.sc.us

(New school) literacy programs, mentoring, tutoring

Berkeley

Cainhoy

Dora Lee Howard

843-899-8963

Aka45@aol.com

Mentoring, tutoring, career speakers, classroom liaison to businesses

Cross

Kathleen Wright

843-899-8900

Work one-on-one with students, mentoring

Hanahan

Regina Ford

843-820-3800

Reginaford@berkeley.k12.sc.us

Job Shadowing Day, Career Day, mentoring, reading assistance

Macedonia

Mike Shaw

843-899-8940

Michaelshaw@berkeley.k12.sc.us

Tutoring in reading and math

Marrington

Sherri Milunich

843-572-0280

Sherrimilunich@berkeley.k12.sc.us

Chaperones, tutoring, yearbooks, monitoring classrooms

Calhoun

John Ford

Chris Rumph

803-655-7222

Crumph@ccps.calhoun.k12.sc.us

Reading and math tutoring

Charleston

Drayton Hall

Deitra Brown

843-763-1541

Deitra_Brown@charleston.k12.sc.us

Coordinate service projects, chaperones, tutoring, mentoring

Haut Gap

Roberta Frasier

843-559-6418

 no email

Mentoring, tutoring, homework and after-school programs

Laing

Marnie Price

843-849-2809

 

Job shadowing, mentoring, classroom speakers

McClellanville

Sheila Green

843-887-3231

SGreen33@hotmail.com

Tutoring, reading partners, mentoring, speakers, pen pals

Morningside

Rebecca Burton

843-745-7076

Rebeccakburton@hotmail.com

Homework assistance, tutoring, after-school program

Cherokee

Ewing

Pat Cooksey

864-489-3176

PatCooksey@hotmail.com

Guest speakers, storyteller, one-on-one student support

Granard

Dede Cleveland

864-489-6833

Clevelanddd@cherokee1.k12.sc.us

Speaker’s bureau, career/college fair, mentoring, character education

Colleton

East Clarendon

Beverly Pournelle

843-549-2690

Bpournelle@mail.colleton.k12.sc.us

Guest speakers, mentoring, tutoring, career awareness

Dillon

Lake View

Van T. Gaffney

843-759-3005

Gaffer_kappa_bulldog@yahoo.com

Tutoring, classroom speakers

Latta

Willie Sneed

843-752-7117

Willie@mail.dillon3.k12.sc.us

Lunch buddies, mentoring, homework center

Dorchester

Alston

Vernisa Bodison

843-873-3890

Vbodison@dorchester2.k12.sc.us

Mentoring, job shadowing, tutoring in reading and math

Gregg

Margie Smith

843-871-3150

Msmith@dorchester2.k12.sc.us

Tutoring, library help, read to classrooms, mentoring

Oakbrook

Elaine Furnari

843-873-8786

Elfurnari@dorchester2.k12.sc.us

Career speaking, office work

Edgefield

Johnston-
Edgefield
Trenton

Gaye Holmes

803-275-1997

Gholmes@edgefield.k12.sc.us

Lunch buddies, mentoring, reading tutors

Merriwether

Catherine Pardue

803-279-2511

Cpardue@edgefield.k12.sc.us

Mentoring, tutoring, career day speakers, classroom assistance

Fairfield

Fairfield

Brandi McAninch

803-635-4279

Brandimcaninch@hotmail.com

Mentoring, tutoring, office assistants

Florence

Johnson

Nealie D. Smith

843-346-3956

no email

Career day speakers, mentoring, shadowing

Johnsonville Middle

Jackie Taylor

843-386-2066

no email

Southside

Sarah K. Carpenter

843-664-8467

Carpsk@aol.com

Reading/math tutoring, chaperones, homework center, newsletter

Greenville

Blue Ridge

Michelle King

864-895-0123

Mking@globalvision.net

Tutoring, mentoring, character education

Hughes Middle

Angela Sparks

864-299-8363

Schapman@greenville.k12.sc.us

Parker
Academy

Timothy Meadows

864-241-3285

Tmeadow@bellsouth.net

Tutoring, classroom speakers

Riverside

Kira Geter

864-848-2465

Klgeter@hotmail.com

Speaking to classrooms, career shadowing, after-school tutoring

Tanglewood

Willie Durham

864-295-5165

No email

Tutoring, classroom speakers, Career Day speakers, teacher helpers

Hampton

Estill

Shirley Hodges

803-625-2658

Hodgesshirley@hotmail.com

Tutoring, academic assistance, speaking to classrooms, chaperones

North District

Lois Thompson

803-943-3507

Loisthompson@hotmail.com

Mentoring, after-school programs

Horry

Carolina Forest

Cindy Thibodeau

843-236-7997

Cthibod@cfec.sccoast.net

Work one-on-one with students, tutoring, mentoring

Conway

Lois Sayre

843-248-2279

Lsayre@cm.sccoast.net

Mentoring, incentives, tutoring, classroom speakers

Jasper

Ridgeland

Beverly Jones

843-717-1400

No email

Job shadowing, classroom monitoring, tutoring

Kershaw

Camden

Robert Springs

803-425-8975

Springsr@cms.kershaw.k12.sc.us

Tutoring, reading program, mentoring, after-school program

Lancaster

South

Sandi Cox, Rick Porter

803-283-8416

Sbcox@mail.lcsd.k12.sc.us

After-school programs, character education

Laurens

Gray Court-
Owings

Eric Robinson

864-876-2171

Erobinson@laurens55.k12.sc.us

Mentoring, tutoring — English

Sanders

Ron Bagwell

864-984-0354

Rbagwell@laurens55.k12.sc.us

Tutoring in reading and math

Lexington

Cyril B. Busbee

Betty Dicks

803-739-4070

no email

Career Day speaking, mentoring, tutoring in reading and math

Gilbert

Georgia Mouzon

803-892-1095

Gmouzon@lex1.k12.state.sc.us

Mentoring, tutoring, after-school program, lunch buddies

Northside

Nancy Scott

803-739-4190

Nmscott@lex2.k12.sc.us

Chaperoning, language tutoring, lunch buddies, reading buddies

Pine Ridge

Lynn Bonus

803-755-7400

Lbonus@lex2.k12.sc.us

Instructional assistance, after-school program

Sandhills

Holly Miller

803-926-1890

Hmiller@lex4.k12.sc.us

One-on-one tutoring, mentoring

Lexington/
Richland

Crossroads

Tillman Ancrum

803-732-8300

tancrum@lex5.k12.sc.us

Newsletters, reading with students, mentoring

Marion

Palmetto School

Ms. Wallis Barnes

843-464-3730

no email

Mentoring, tutoring, classroom speakers

Marlboro

Blenheim

Anthony Saseen

843-528-3262

Asasseen@marlboro.k12.sc.us

Mentoring, one-on-one tutoring in reading and math

McColl

Vicky Fowler

843-523-5371

no email

Tutoring, lunch buddies, mentoring

Wallace

843-537-7493

no email

Tutoring, guest speakers, mentoring

Orangeburg

Carver-Edisto

Mike Cory

803-534-3554

Corym@orangeburg4.k12.sc.us

Career speakers, mentoring programs, business partners, tutoring

Richland

Blythewood

Nancy Gregory

803-691-6850

Ngregory@bm.richland2.org

Tutoring in reading and math

Crayton Middle

Laura Shaleuly

803 738-7597

Lshaleuly@richlandone.org

Mentoring, tutoring and classroom speaking

Dent

Evelyn Muldrow

803-699-2750

Emuldrow@dm.richland2.org

Reading to and tutoring students, mentoring program

Hand

B-Linda Rogers

803-929-3987

Brogers@richlandone.org

Mentoring, tutoring, classroom speakers

Hopkins

Nancy Morgan

803-695-3331

Nmorgan@richlandone.org

 

Southeast

Wendell Sumter

803-695-5700

Wsumter@richlandone.org

Summit
Parkway

John Arnold

803-699-3580

Jarnold@spm.richland2.org

Chaperoning, classroom assistance, Spanish assistance

Spartanburg

Beech Springs

Kathy Gossett

864-949-7600

Gossetks@spart5.k12.sc.us

Mentoring, guest speaking, library assistance, tutoring

Campobello-
Gramling

Trevelyn Alford-Smith

864-472-9110

Trevelyn.alford.smith@att.net

Tutoring — reading, career speaking, English as a second language assistance

Fairforest

John Burgess

864-576-1270

Twowalking@netscape.net

Tutoring, clerical, reading and math help

Landrum

Becky Taylor

864-457-2629

Abt52@aol.com

Mentoring, reading and writing workshops, email buddies

Mabry

Cathy McMillan

864-472-8402

Cathy.mcmillan@mail.spartanburg1.k12.sc.us

Mentoring, academic tutors, English as a Second Language assistance

Sumter

Alice Drive

Bill Coon

803-775-0821

Bill@adm.sumter17.k12.sc.us

Lunch buddies, guest speaking, reading tutoring, mentoring

Bates

Tara Kelly

803-775-0711

no email

After-school program, volunteers in classrooms

Furman

Janelle Saulsgiver

803-481-8519

LUCAS_CJ@yahoo.com

Classroom monitoring, tutoring, office assistance

Hillcrest

Danette McBride

803-499-3341

Dmcbride@scsd2.k12.sc.us

Tutoring and mentoring, office volunteers

Mayewood

Bertha Jeter, Charlie Blair

803-495-8014

Cblair@scsd2.k12.sc.us

Computer lab operation, career speakers, reading tutors

York

Fort Mill

Eddie Haughey

803-547-5553

Haugheye@fort-mill.k12.sc.us

Mentoring and tutoring, chaperoning, classroom speaking

Gold Hill

James White

803-548-8300

Whitej@fort-mill.k12.sc.us

Tutoring, mentoring, guest speaking

Harold C. Johnson

Susan Petty, Marsha Smiley

803-684-2311

no email

Mentoring, tutoring, chaperones,

Sullivan

Ms. Shaun Sheppard

803-981-1451

ssheppar@rock-hill.k12.sc.us

Lunch buddies, special events, mentoring, tutoring

Meet in the Middle Volunteer Form.gif