Carolina Journalism Institute
General InformationClassesFacultyRegistrationForms|


Deborah Gascon, Dutch Fork HS (S.C.)

Deborah Gascon, a Master Journalism Educator, has been advising the Dutch Fork High School Legacy yearbook for over a decade. In that time she has won five Best in State awards from the SCSPA, two Best in State awards from SIPA, numerous All-Southern and All-State evaluations and has consistently earned ratings of distinction from CSPA and NSPA. Her yearbook has also been featured in the Jostens Look Book, an annual publication of the best design and photography. Deborah serves on the SCSPA Board as secretary and is on the advisory committee of SIPA. Many of her students have gone on to have careers in design and publishing; however none have accepted the position of yearbook adviser--yet. She loves to travel (especially through government-funded programs for teachers such as NEH and Fulbright), watch and sing and tap dance to all things related to music (especially Broadway musicals!) and read Victorian literature until it depresses her so much she has to eat pizza and chocolate.

Dean Hume, Lakota East HS (Ohio)

A summer workshop speaker at a number of venues across the country, Dean Hume, CJE, advises the Spark newsmagazine at Lakota East High School, Liberty Township, Ohio. Spark is an NSPA Pacemaker and All-American winner, a Quill and Scroll Gallup winner and Columbia Gold Crown winner. A former sportswriter and columnist, Hume has taught news writing and editing at the high school level and advised publications for 28 years. He also severed as an adjunct professor in the School of Journalism at Kent State University for a time. He is a past executive director of the Journalism Association of Ohio Schools at Ohio State University and a current board member of the Ohio Scholastic media Association at Kent State University.
A 1993 Dow Jones Newspaper Fund Distinguished Adviser, and a U. S. Department of Education Presidential Scholars Educator, Hume is a member of the NOSPA Adviser Hall of Fame.

David Knight, Lancaster County School District (S.C.)

David Knight is the Public Information Director for the Lancaster County (S.C.) School District. He also teaches broadcast journalism at Lancaster High School. He has served as public information director for USC-Lancaster and as a student newspaper and literary magazine adviser for Spring Valley High School in Columbia, S.C.
While at Spring Valley, the newspaper and individual staff members received awards from state and national associations. The literary magazine also received top state awards. Knight is a favorite at journalism workshops across the country.
Honors Knight has received include SCSPA's Scroggins Award, SIPA’s Distinguished Service Award, CSPA's Gold Key and the 1977 Dent Junior High School Teacher of the Year.

Susan Massy, Shawnee Mission Northwest HS (Kan.)

Susan Massy, a former JEA National Yearbook Adviser of the Year, is the adviser of the Northwest Passage and The Lair, the newspaper and yearbook of Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, both of which regularly receive high honors in national competition. The Lair has been a NSPA Pacemaker winner numerous times and the Passage has won a Pacemaker the past two years.
Massy is currently the Kansas State director for JEA. She is a regular speaker at the national conventions. Massy also teaches at numerous summer workshops across the country.
In 1994, she received JEA’s Medal of Merit and was named Dow Jones Newspaper Fund Distinguished Adviser.

Amy Medlock-Greene, Dutch Fork HS (S.C.)

After advising more than 100 issues of Dutch Fork High School's Renaissance newsmagazine and almost 200 episodes of "The Silver Screen Report," Amy Medlock-Greene has begun her second decade of advising with a renewed passion for scholastic journalism.  She and her students are active participants in both the South Carolina and Southern Interscholastic Press Associations and hold multiple positions on both organizations’ boards.
Named SCSPA's Reid H. Montgomery Adviser of the Year in 2008, Medlock-Greene has also been twice nominated as the Dow Jones Newspaper Fund's National Journalism Teacher of the Year.  She has been the recipient of SIPA's Elizabeth Dickey Distinguished Service Award and C.E. Savedge Fellowship.  Her experience with SIPA dates back to 1992 when, as a high school senior, she was awarded SIPA's J. Grady Locklear Scholarship to attend the College of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of South Carolina.

Tamela Watkins, Wando HS (S.C.)

Tamela Watkins has been the Tribal Tribune adviser for 25 years at Wando High School in Mt. Pleasant, S.C. The Tribal Tribune has won various state, regional and national awards, including the prestigious National Scholastic Press Association Pacemaker Award in 2009. As a former sports reporter herself, she loves sports and the art of covering them effectively and creatively.


SIPA | University of South Carolina School of Journalism and Mass Communications