About the program

It’s been little more than a decade since the South Carolina SmartState® Program was established by the state’s General Assembly in 2002 with $180 million of non-tax revenue generated from the South Carolina Education Lottery.  Yet the SmartState® Program has already attracted more than $1.4 BILLION in investments in our state from businesses and foundations in search of innovation, collaboration, and talented, well-prepared employees. It’s created more than 8,000 jobs. And continues to attract a who’s who of corporate partners such as BMW, Boeing, GM, SCANA, Fluor, and many more eager to pursue joint research with our state’s research universities and employ their graduates. 

The University of South Carolina has 18 SmartState Centers in which it is the sole or lead research institution and 8 more in which it is a supporting research collaborator with the Medical University of South Carolina and/or Clemson University. Additional research partners are South Carolina State University and Coastal Carolina University.

Appropriated South Carolina Education Lottery funds and legislatively mandated dollar-for-dollar matching non-state funds provide support for hiring the world-class researchers who serve as the endowed chairs of these SmartState Centers. Since its inception, the SmartState® Program has brought the knowledge and expertise of 43 world-class scientists to South Carolina.


The University of South Carolina's 18 SmartState endowed chairs are:

Senior faculty members and a research team of junior faculty, research faculty, and graduate students support these endowed chairs.

The SmartState® Program brings together the brightest-minds and innovative technology to advance the quality of life for South Carolinians and the economy of our state. SmartState Centers work to develop patents and products, commercialize technology, create new companies and jobs, and increase our state's per-capita income. Research in advanced materials, the health and life sciences, Future Fuels®, nanotechnology, and in the economic development aspects of tourism, currently our state's largest industry, support creation of high-paying jobs in South Carolina.

The University of South Carolina's 26 SmartState Centers are: