University Athletics Advisory Committee

2000-2001 Annual Report

June 15, 2001

Members of the 2000-2001 University Athletics Advisory Committee (AAC) were Arthur Bahnmuller (Board of Trustees), Craig Curry (Compliance Officer, Athletics Department), Abby Derman (undergraduate student), Elaine Frank (Associate Professor - Speech/Language Pathology & Audiology), Harold Friedman (Professor - School of Medicine), Peter Graham, Chair (Professor - Sport & Entertainment Management), Laurie Massa (Associate Athletics Director), William Mathais (Professor – Criminal Justice), Mike McGee (Athletics Director), Tom Perry (Associate Athletics Director), Dennis Pruitt (Vice President - Student & Alumni Services), Rodney Roenfeldt (Professor & Associate Dean - Darla Moore School of Business), Saundra Schneider (Associate Professor - Government and International Studies) and Susie VanHuss (USC Foundations, NCAA Faculty Representative). This diverse group focuses on issues affecting the intercollegiate athletic programs, especially academic performance and eligibility requirements.

The AAC met three times each semester during the 2000-2001 academic year and will resume its schedule of meetings in September 2001.

The overall academic performance for student-athletes in every sport continues to improve. The annual Scholar-Athlete Reception hosted by the Athletics Department and the AAC honored students who earned at least a 3.0 GPA in one or more semesters. This year, a record number of athletes achieved either a 3.0, 3.5 or 4.0 grade point average. In addition, these scholar-athletes nominated 35 professors for recognition as Faculty All-Stars.

Abby Derman, Peter Graham and Saundra Schneider have completed their respective appointments. The Committee is most appreciative of their dedication to our student-athletes. Dr. Elaine Frank (Associate Professor - Speech/Language Pathology & Audiology) has been elected Chair.

Respectfully submitted,

Peter J. Graham, Chair
Athletics Advisory Committee

This page created 29 August 2001 by the Office of the Faculty Senate and Computer Services.
Copyright 1999-2001, The Board of Trustees of the University of South Carolina