Committee on Admissions Report 1998-1999


Elected Members:

Andrew Gowan, Alan Waldman, Charles Wilbanks, Sandra Kelly, Manton Matthews

Appointed Members:

Terry Davis, Donald Greiner, Jessica Kross, Stephen McNeill, Ernest Wiggins

Chair: Stephen McNeill

The committee met 4 times during the academic year, reviewed 12 files, approved five for admission and denied 7.

The committee also approved new high school course requirements for freshman admission beginning fall 2001. This was to be inline with the South Carolina's new high school graduation requirements. The Faculty Senate passed the committee's recommendation.

The committee approved new admission requirements for PACE applicants (Program for Accelerated College Education). It was implemented under one-year experimental review. The committee expects to bring this for Faculty Senate approval during the 1999-2000 year.

The following were elected to serve beginning with 1999-2000 year. Jean Ann Linney, Elizabeth Dickey. They replace Andrew Gowan and Alan Waldman who have completed their terms.

Stephen McNeill was re-elected chair.

This page updated 23 August 1999 by the Office of the Faculty Senate,
and copyright 1999, The Board of Trustees of the University of South Carolina.