Feed the Dream: The Palmetto Poets' Place

Lists of Literary Magazines and submission dates:

Grants and Contests

  • Poets and Writers: Grants and Awards http://www.pw.org/grants?apage=*&
    Contains lists only prizes of $1,000 or more, prizes of $500 or more that charge no entry fee, and prestigious nonmonetary awards. 

  • Turtle Light Press invites submissions to its bi-annual Haiku Chapbook Competition by December 1, 2009. The winning manuscript will be announced in February 2010. The author will be awarded 10 free copies plus a contract for 10 percent royalties on the sale of other copies of the chapbook. In general, we are open to both traditional and modern-style haiku but have a particular fondness for haiku that deal with both people and nature. The competition is open to published and unpublished writers. Rick Black will be the primary judge of the contest in consultation with other poets.

    For guidelines and further information visit: http://www.turtlelightpress.com/Books/chapbook.shtml

  • HOUSTON -(Aug. 03, 2009)- Baylor College of Medicine has announced the 7th Annual Michael E. DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Award.
    This annual contest honors the pre-eminent cardiovascular surgeon, pioneering medical scientist, gifted medical educator, prolific author and scholar, and passionate advocate of optimal healthcare throughout the world. Dr. Michael E. DeBakey long advocated a role for the humanities in medical education and in the development of a full, enriching intellectual life.
    Submission of original poetry by undergraduates currently enrolled in accredited United States medical schools is welcome.

    1. Only original poetry by undergraduates currently enrolled in accredited U.S. medical schools is eligible.

    2. By a copy of the student photograph I.D. card, entrants must document enrollment in an accredited American medical school in pursuit of the M.D. degree.

    3. Each medical student may submit only one poem, not to exceed two pages.

    4. Entries must be postmarked no later than Dec. 31, 2009.

    5. Poems may be of any general or specific theme.

    6. Poems must be:
      -Original, not published or under consideration for publication, and not having previously received a poetry award.
      -Limited to two pages, double-spaced.
      -In English; no translations from other languages.
      -Printed on 8.5 x 11-inch bond paper.
      -Accompanied by a cover page with the following information:
           a. Poet's name.
           b. Current mailing and e-mailing addresses, telephone, and fax numbers if available.
           c. Copy of photographed student I.D. card documenting medical school enrollment.
      -Submitted in hardcopy, in quintuplicate (five copies), and only on compact disk (CD) in Microsoft Word.

    7. Entries will not be acknowledged.
    8. All winning poems become the property of the Michael E. DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Award program.
    9. A distinguished panel of qualified judges will assess the poems.
    10. Winners will be announced on July 1, 2010.
      -The first prize recipient will receive a cash prize of $1,000.
      -The second prize recipient will receive a cash prize of $500.
      -The third prize recipient will receive a cash prize of $250.
    11. The first-prize poem will be submitted to a major medical periodical for consideration for publication.

       Submissions should be sent to:
    F. Charles Brunicardi, M.D., F.A.C.S.
    DeBakey/Bard Professor and Chairman
    Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Award Baylor College of Medicine
    1709 Dryden, Suite 1500
    Houston, Texas 77030

General Interest

  • Poetry Foundation: Around the Web http://www.poetryfoundation.org/archive/aroundtheweb.html
    A one-stop-shop that contains links to a plethora of poetry related websites including blogs, magazines, publishers, other poetry websites, and much much more.

  • Nebraska Center for Writers: Everything http://mockingbird.creighton.edu/NCW/
    Like the above link, they have a comprehensive site that covers all facets of writing, including
    publications, programs, prizes, and quite a bit more.
©University of South Carolina Board of Trustees