To receive state funds through the Sustainable Universities Initiative, a state college, university or technical school must first appoint a campus SUI Environmental Fellow.  The campus Environmental Fellow is a faculty member or senior administrator designated to represent the campus in matters related to the Sustainable Universities Initiative.  The SUI Environmental Fellow should be prepared to initiate action on campus, at a minimum facilitating campus response to a call for mini-grant proposals, sharing notices about conferences, workshops, etc., providing information about current and planned activities, and initiating some new activity or project.  Activities can be a simple as guest lecturers or as complex as a new program.  Funding in the amount of $5,000 is available on a competitive basis to support the activities of  SUI Environmental Fellows.  Support may take the form of salary for a student assistant,  summer salary supplements for the Fellow, books and other materials, or support for meetings and programs on campus. 

The following are SUI Environmental Fellows for the 2001-2002 academic year.

 
     
Dan Abel  Coastal Carolina University dabel@coastal.edu
Ambrose Anoruo  SC State University aoanoruo@scsu.edu
Paul Marino College of Charleston marinop@cofc.edu
Barbara McKenzie  Williamsburg Technical College mckenzieb@wil.tec.sc.us
Sharon Miller  Tri-County Technical College smiller@tctc.edu
Lisa Pike  Francis Marion University lpike@fmarion.edu
Peter Phillips  Winthrop University phillipsp@winthrop.edu
David Slimmer Lander University dslimmer@lander.edu
Linda Porter Midlands Technical College PORTERL@mtc.mid.tec.sc.us
Mack Shealy  Spartanburg Technical College ShealyM@stcsc.edu
To Be Announced Central Carolina Technical College
Jay Vinson Trident Technical College jay.vinson@tridenttech.edu 
Donna Foster Piedmont Technical College Foster.D@ptc.edu
 
 
Top of Page

Prepared by Kim Buchanan
Document URL:  http://www.sc.edu/sustainableu/SUIEnvFellows.htm

This page copyright  © 2006, The Board of Trustees of the University of South Carolina.