Skip to Content

University History

Commission Members

The Presidential Commission on University History draws from the expertise of university, state and local historians, student and faculty leaders, and race and diversity leaders both on campus and in the state.


  • Valinda Littlefield, Associate Professor of History
  • Elizabeth Cassidy West, University Archivist, South Caroliniana Library


  • Communications and Education, chaired by Elizabeth Cassidy West 
  • Names on the Landscape, chaired by Andrea L’Hommedieu and Robin Waites
  • University History, chaired by Jennifer Gunter and Valinda Littlefield


  • Dan Adams, University Board of Trustees
  • Christian Anderson, Associate Professor, Higher Education
  • Jessica Y. Allison, Administrative Coordinator to the Deputy Athletics Director for Internal Operations and Risk Management
  • Stacey Bradley, Senior Associate Vice President, Division of Student Affairs and Academic Support
  • Maggie Carson, President, Graduate Student Association
  • Melissa DeVelvis, Commission Research Assistant
  • Myisha S. Eatmon, Assistant Professor of History
  • Walter Edgar, Professor Emeritus, History
  • Jessica Elfenbein, Professor and Chair, Department of History
  • C. Edward Floyd, MD, University Board of Trustees Chairman Emeritus
  • Jennifer Gunter, Director, SC Collaborative on Race
  • William Hubbard, Dean of the School of Law
  • I.S. Leevy Johnson, community leader, attorney with Johnson, Toal & Battiste, P.A.
  • Jonathan Leader, SC State Archaeologist, SC Institute of Archaeology and Anthropology
  • Andrea L’Hommedieu, Director of Oral History, University Libraries
  • Mercedes Lopez-Rodriguez, former Chair, Latino and Hispanic Faculty Caucus
  • Derrick Meggie, Director, State Government & Community Relations
  • Carla Pfeffer, Associate Professor of Sociology and Women’s and Gender Studies; Director, Women’s and Gender Studies
  • Karen Roberts, Associate Vice President, Development Operations and Services
  • Issy Rushton, Student Body President
  • David Seaton, Special Advisor to the University Board of Trustees
  • Todd Shaw, Associate Professor, Political Science and African American Studies
  • Harry Singleton, Adjunct Professor, African American Studies Program
  • James Smith, Special Assistant to the President – External Affairs
  • Robin Waites, Executive Director, Historic Columbia
  • Robert R. Weyeneth, Professor, History
  • Hannah White, Student Body Vice President
  • Qiana Whitted, Professor of English, Director of the African American Studies Program
  • Julian R. Williams, Vice President, Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Support Staff:

  • Kareemah Hosendove
  • Shalama Jackson
  • Pam Pope
  • Melissa Spring
  • Matthew Warthen
  • Jeff Wilkinson

University History

    Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.