Skip to Content

Film and Media Studies Program

Gamecocks Take Montreal by Storm

Film and Media Studies was well represented at the Society for Cinema and Media Studies conference in Montreal (March 25-29). Faculty members Mark Cooper, Susan Courtney, Susan Felleman, Julie Hubbert, and Lauren Steimer joined Professor Emerita Ina Rae Hark in presenting current projects. And so did program alumni: Laurel Ahnert (PhD candidate, Georgia State University), Anne Major (PhD candidate, U Texas, Austin), James Gilmore (PhD candidate, U of Indiana), Matthew Smith (PhD candidate, Georgia State University), Kyle Stevens (Florence Levy Kay Fellow in Film Studies and the Digital Humanities, Brandeis University), and Drew Zolides (PhD candidate, UW-Madison). Mark Minett made his first appearance as a member of our faculty. Heidi Rae Cooley won the Anne Friedberg Innovative Scholarship Award, one of the highest honors bestowed by the Society, for her book, Finding Augusta: Habits of Mobility and Governance in the Digital Era and its accompanying iPhone application. Professor Duncan Buell, Computer Science and Jeremy Greenberger, '14 collaborated with Cooley to create the application.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.