Skip to Content

Department of Geography

Geography undergraduates recognized at USC Awards Day program

As the 2016-2017 academic year winds down, a number of Geography undergraduates were recognized at the university’s Awards Day program on April 20, 2017

Daniel Keenen and Jory Fleming were co-recipients of the Petty Award for Excellence in Geography. Named in honor of the late Dr. Julian Petty, who taught geography at USC from 1929-1967 and was the department’s first chair, this award is conferred each spring on a graduating geography major in recognition of sustained excellence in scholarship over the student’s undergraduate program.

Itsuki Shindo was recipient of Geography's Rising Senior Award, which is given to a rising senior who has demonstrated excellence in academic coursework. Ms. Shindo is pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Geography with minors in Applied Computing and Art Studio.

William Poulson was awarded the Bushman Award, which is given to the outstanding student in cartography during an academic year. This award is named in honor of the late Dr. Donald O. Bushman, who taught geography and cartography at USC from 1953-1973.

Hugh Aiken and Kelsy Grogan were co-recipients of the Bennett S. Masaschi Memorial Scholarship, which was established by John and Susan Masaschi in honor of their son, Bennett, who completed his B.A degree in geography at USC in 1975. Mr. Aiken is pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Geography with a concentration in Geographic Information science while Ms. Grogan is double majoring in Geography and Global Studies.

In addition to these departmental awards, Jory Fleming received the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award, which is given each year for outstanding achievements, campus leadership, exemplary character and service to the community. The Sullivan Award is the university’s top honor for undergraduates. Mr. Fleming will be starting graduate work in the School of Geography and the Environment at Oxford University as a Rhodes Scholar next fall.

We’d like to congratulate all of our graduates this year!

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.