University of South Carolina

Carolina/Hamilton and McNair /Horseshoe scholars will join the USC community in August
Carolina/Hamilton and McNair /Horseshoe scholars will join the USC community in August

Top scholars join USC freshman class

By Megan Sexton,, 803-777-1421

The University of South Carolina will welcome some of the nation’s and the state’s top students for the university’s most valuable and prestigious scholarship program. Recipients of the Carolina/Hamilton Scholar Awards for in-state students and the McNair/Horseshoe Scholar Awards for out-of-state students will join the Carolina community in August.

“The Scholar Awards program at the state’s flagship university attracts the best and the brightest students from our state, region and nation,” said Scott Verzyl, USC’s associate vice president for enrollment management. “These students come to USC with many accomplishments and talents. Our goal is to help these outstanding students achieve the highest levels of academic success here at USC and beyond, wherever their careers may take them. We have high expectations for our top scholars, and not surprisingly they usually exceed them.”

More than 2,200 students applied for USC’s scholars awards, making it the largest and most competitive applicant pool in the university’s history. USC invited 91 scholar candidates to campus to compete for these awards. This year’s 20 McNair Scholars and two Horseshoe Scholars include students from 12 states. In-state, the five Stamps Carolina Scholars, 20 Carolina Scholars and two Hamilton Scholars come from 11 counties in South Carolina.

The Carolina Scholars Award is valued at $10,000 per year for four years. Five students also are named Stamps Carolina Scholars, and will receive all the benefits of the Carolina Scholars, plus $8,000 to be used for enrichment opportunities including undergraduate research, study abroad, service projects or trips or unpaid internships during their undergraduate tenure. The Hamilton Scholars award for in-state students is valued at $7,000 per year for four years.

The Stamps Carolina Scholars are: Daniel Clements and Alessandra “Alix” Tuel of Columbia; Ellen Gardiner of Irmo; Judith Lin of Greer; and Sydney Poskevich of Moore.

The Carolina Scholars are: Michael “Caleb” Bagley and Sarah Roof of Chapin; Keiko Bridwell of Woodruff; Carsten Bryant and Justin Garrison of Lexington; Brandon Byrd of Greenville; Samuel Collinsworth, James “Jamie” Durden, Madeleine Giess, Pooja Malhotra, Kelsey Murrell and Rana Sobeih of Columbia; Jordan “Blakeley” Hoffman and Supriya Juneja of Irmo; Adam Glenn of Conway; Tien Thuy Ho of Blythewood; Colman Moore of Greenwood, Austin Pahl of Summerville, Julia Strout of Mt. Pleasant and Benjamin Youngblood of Hartsville.

The Hamilton Scholars Award recipients are: Edward Dunton of Tega Cay and David Wang of Florence.

The McNair Scholars Award is the most valuable and prestigious scholarship for out-of-state students. The award is valued at $15,000 per year for four years. The Horseshoe Scholars Award for out-of-state students is valued at $11,000 per year for four years. Each of these awards also comes with a tuition reduction which translates into a scholarship package worth more than $128,600 for McNair Scholars and $112,600 for Horseshoe Scholars.

McNair Scholars for 2013 are: Kevin Anneken and Kelly Kopchak of Cincinnati; Cynthia Beavin of Louisville, Ky.; Victoria Belcher of Matthews, N.C.; Caroline Blount of Naperville, Ill.; Andrew Freix of Centreville, Va.; Ashley Taylor Griffith of Maryville, Tenn.; Jonathan Keefe of Brentwood, Tenn.; Angela Korabik of Brookfield, Ill.; Nicholas Lolli of Phoenixville, Pa.; Natalie Pita of Moseley, Va.; Amie Sessoms of Forest City, N.C.; Abrahim Sharaf of Fort Worth, Texas; Samantha Stewart of Manchester, Md.; Sean Thomas of Winston Salem, N.C.; Elizabeth Utset of Atlantic Beach, Fla.; Anne Wacker of Austin, Texas; Austin Ward of Johns Creek, Ga.; Brett Williams of Annandale, Va.; and Kristen Young of Chelmsford, Mass.

Horseshoe Scholars Award recipients are: Christopher Buckman of Knoxville, Tenn., and Perry Davis of Conover, N.C.

The McNair Scholars program began in 1998 and is supported by a $30 million gift from university alumni Robert and Janice McNair. The Carolina Scholars program was developed by USC in 1969.

News and Internal Communications

Posted: 05/28/13 @ 3:00 PM | Updated: 05/28/13 @ 4:04 PM | Permalink



Media Relations

USC Times