Two faculty named AAAS fellows

Posted on: 11/25/2013; Updated on: 2/7/2014

Two University of South Carolina professors have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). The new fellows are Duncan A. Buell and Joseph T. DiPiro, and their election increases the number of AAAS fellows at USC to 25. A total of 388 individuals from around the world were honored with this prestigious fellowship in 2013.

Buell, a professor in the department of computer science and engineering, was elected as a fellow for leadership and distinguished contributions in reconfigurable computing, in public policy related to computer science education and in public audits and verification of election data.

DiPiro, a professor and the executive dean of the South Carolina College of Pharmacy, was elected as a fellow for distinguished contributions to the field of pharmacy and to pharmaceutical education, including leadership in national organizations, for service as editor of the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education and for textbooks in pharmacy.

AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and publishes numerous newsletters, books and journals, including Science. The tradition of AAAS fellows began in 1874. Currently, members of AAAS can be considered for the rank of fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the association, by three fellows from other institutions or by the AAAS chief executive officer.

Share this Story!  Let friends in your social network know what you are reading about