Skip to Content

Board of Trustees


Made up of some of the state’s most influential and knowledgeable leaders, the board includes the governor, the state education superintendent, members representing each of the state’s 16 judicial circuits and the president of the UofSC Alumni Association. The governor has an appointee and usually designates someone to fill the governor’s seat on the board.

Gov. Henry McMaster

Henry McMaster, Governor of South Carolina

A.B., history, USC, 1969 | J.D., USC School of Law, 1973 | The Governor is the ex officio Chair of the Board and serves for the duration of his tenure as Governor.

C. Dorn Smith III

C. Dorn Smith III, M.D., Chairman

3rd Judicial Circuit | Physician | B.S., biology, Wofford College, 1980 | M.D., University of South Carolina, 1985 | General Surgery Residency, USC, 1985-1990 | Cardiothoracic Surgery Fellowship, Medical College of Georgia, 1990-1992 | Board member since 2010; current term, 2018-2022

Thad H. Westbrook

Thad H. Westbrook, Vice Chairman

11th Judicial Circuit | Attorney | B.A., political science, USC Honors College, 1996 | J.D., USC School of Law, 1999 | Board member since 2010; current term, 2018-2022

C. Dan Adams, Gubernatorial Designee

C. Dan Adams, Governor's Designee

Investment Banker | B.S., business administration, USC Upstate, 1983 | Board member since 2018

Egerton Burroughs

J. Egerton Burroughs

15th Judicial Circuit | Real Estate Developer | B.A., University of the South, 1968 | Graduate studies, business administration, USC, 1970 | Board member since 2008; current term, 2020-2024

Alex English smiles at the camera

Alex English

5th Judicial Circuit | Retired | B.A., Interdisciplinary Studies, USC, 1991 | Board member since 2020; current term, 2020-2022

C. Edward Floyd

C. Edward Floyd, M.D.

12th Judicial Circuit | Surgeon | B.A., business administration, USC, 1956 | M.D., Medical University of South Carolina, 1957-1960 | Board member since 1982; current term, 2018-2022 | Board Chairman, 1992-1996

harlan updated photo

Brian C. Harlan

8th Judicial Circuit | Chief Executive Officer | B.S., business administration, USC, 1990 | Current term, 2020-2024

Richard A. Jones, Jr., Gubernatorial Appointee

Richard A. Jones Jr., Governor's Appointee

Attorney | B.S., business administration, USC, 1968 | J.D., USC School of Law, 1972 | Board member since 2018

Toney J. Lister

Toney J. Lister

7th Judicial Circuit | Attorney | B.S., business administration, USC, 1968 | J.D., USC School of Law, 1974 | Board member since 1994; current term, 2018-2022

Miles Loadholt

Miles Loadholt

2nd Judicial Circuit | Attorney | B.S., marketing, USC, 1965 | J.D., USC School of Law, 1968 | Board member since 1996; current term, 2020-2024 | Board Chairman, 2008-2012

Hugh Mobley

Hubert F. "Hugh" Mobley

6th Judicial Circuit | Pharmacist/Business Owner | B.S., pharmacy, USC, 1978 | Board member since 2011; current term, 2020-2024

Robin Roberts smiles at the camera

Elizabeth Scott Moise, UofSC Alumni Association President

Attorney | B.A., education, secondary english, USC, 1974 |J.D., USC School of Law, 1989| Board member, ex officio; current term, 2022-2024

Leah B. Moody

Leah B. Moody

16th Judicial Circuit | Attorney | B.A., political science, Hampton University, 1992 | J.D., USC School of Law, 1996 | Board member since 2009; current term, 2020-2024

updated morris photo

Emma W. Morris

10th Judicial Circuit | Attorney | B.S., business administration/finance, USC, 1992 | J.D., Samford University, 1995 | Current term, 2020-2024

Rose Buyck Newton

Rose Buyck Newton

14th Judicial Circuit | Banker | B.A., finance and economics, Converse College, 1992 | MBA, USC, 1994 | Board member since 2018; current term, 2020-2024

Molly M. Spearman

Molly M. Spearman, State Superintendent of Education

B.A., music education, Lander College, 1976 | M.A., education supervision, George Washington University, 1981 | Ed.S., educational administration, University of South Carolina, 1990

John C. von Lehe, Jr.

John C. von Lehe Jr., Chairman Emeritus

9th Judicial Circuit | Attorney | B.S., psychology, USC, 1965 | J.D., USC School of Law, 1968 | Board member since 1998; current term, 2018-2022

Mack I. Whittle Jr.

Mack I. Whittle Jr.

13th Judicial Circuit | Retired Bank President | B.S., business administration, USC, 1971 | M.B.A., USC, 1975 | Board member since 1990; current term, 2018-2022 | Board chairman, 2000-2004

Charles H. Williams

Charles H. Williams

1st Judicial Circuit | Attorney | B.A., business, USC, 1972 | J.D., USC School of Law, 1975 | Board member since 2010; current term, 2018-2022


4th Judicial Circuit 

L. Cameron Howell IV

L. Cameron Howell IV, Ph.D., Secretary of the Board

B.A., english, Washington and Lee University, 1994, magna cum laude | M.Ed., University of Virginia, 2001  | Ph.D., University of Virginia, 2004 |Secretary of the University and of the University of South Carolina's Board of Trustees, April 29, 2021 - present.


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.