Skip to Content

Office of the Faculty Senate

Faculty Senators

The Faculty Senate consists of 10 percent of the voting members of the faculty, elected by each college, school, or regional campus, except that the clinical, teaching faculty from each School of Medicine will be represented by three faculty.

Each spring semester, the Faculty Senate office calculates the appropriate senate representation for each college and school. Senators are elected for a three-year term in the spring, with the term beginning with the fall semester.  Every faculty member has the right to attend and address the senate, but only senators may vote.

Senators



2020-2021 Senators

Current faculty senators are listed by college and department below. To find the contact information for a specific person, search by keyword. 2020 - 2021 Faculty Senators [pdf]

Department Name Year Email Keywords(hidden column)
College of Arts & Sciences
Aerospace Studies
Vacant 2022 (See Naval Science)  
College of Arts & Sciences
Anthropology
Sherina Feliciano-Santos 2021 felicias@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Biological Sciences
Sofia Lizarraga 2021 lizarras@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
Biological Sciences
Trey Franklin 2022 frankliw@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Biological Sciences
Joshua Stone 2023 stone@sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Biological Sciences
Kristy Welshhans
2023 kristyw@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Biological Sciences
Mingli Xu 2023 minglixu@sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Natalia Shustova  2022 shustova@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Chemistry & Biochemistry
John Lavigne 2023 lavignjj@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Morgan Stefik  2023 stefik@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Hui Wang
 
2023  
College of Arts & Sciences
Criminology and Criminal Justice
Hayden Smith 2021 smithhp@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Criminology and Criminal Justice
Robert Kaminski 2022 kaminskb@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Mark Minett
 
2021  
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Erik Doxtader 2022 erik.doxtader@gmail.com  
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Michael Dowdy  2024 mdowdy@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Anthony Jarrells  2022 jarrells@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Ed Madden  2023 maddene@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Hannah Rule 2023 ruleh@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Rebecca Stern  2023 stern2@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Geography
Zhenlong Li 
 
2023  
College of Arts & Sciences
Geography
Caroline Nagel  2024 cnagel@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
History
Andrew Berns 2021 aberns@malbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
History
Paul MacKenzie 2022 mackensp@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
History
Kent Germany  2023 germany@sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Rebecca Janzen 2021 janzenr@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Greg Patterson 2021 gpatters@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Alexandre Bonafos  2022 bonafos@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Andrew Corley 2023 corleyam@email.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Vacant 2022    
College of Arts & Sciences
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Vacant 2023    
College of Arts & Sciences
Mathematics
Paula Vasquez
 
2021  
College of Arts & Sciences
Mathematics
Qi Want 2022 qwang@math.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Mathematics
Frank Thorne  2023 thorne@math.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
Mathematics
Changhui Tan  2023 tan@math.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Military Science (Army)
Vacant 2022 (See Naval Science)  
College of Arts & Sciences
Naval Science
Robert Osterhoudt
2021  
College of Arts & Sciences
Philosophy
George Khushf 2022 khushf@sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Philosophy
Kathtyn Lindeman 2024 lindemk@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Physics & Astronomy
Yuriy Pershin 2021 pershin@physics.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Physics & Astronomy
Steve Rodney 2022 rodneysa@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Physics & Astronomy
Vacant 2023    
College of Arts & Sciences
Political Science
Robert Oldendick
 
2021
 
 
College of Arts & Sciences
Political Science
Kirk Randazzo
2023  
College of Arts & Sciences
Psychology
Rutvik Desai 2022 desairh@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Psychology
Douglas Wedell  2022 wedell@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Psychology
Amanda Fairchild  2023 afairchi@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Psychology
Scott Huebner 2023 huebner@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Religious Studies
Noah Gardiner 2023 gardinen@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Sociology
Mathieu Deflem 2021 deflem@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Statistics
David Hitchcock 2022 hitchcock@stat.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Statistics
Vacant 2023    
College of Arts & Sciences
Theatre & Dance
André Megerdichian 2022 megerdia@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Theatre & Dance
Kristy Hall  2024 hallkl9@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of the Earth, Ocean and Environment
David Fuente 2021 fuente@seoe.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of the Earth, Ocean and Environment
Gwen Geidel 2023 geidel@environ.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of the Earth, Ocean and Environment
Katherine Ryker 2023 kryker@seoe.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of Visual Art & Design
Peter Chametzky 2021 chametzk@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of Visual Art & Design
Hyunji Kwon  2021 kwon7@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of Visual Art & Design
Marius Valdes 2022 valdesm@mailbox.sc.edu  
Moore School of Business
Elizabeth Ravlin
2021  
Moore School of Business Luv Sharma 2021
 
 
Moore School of Business Justin Byars 2022 Justin.byars@moore.sc.edu  
Moore School of Business Maureen Petkewich 2022 Maureen.petkewich@moore.sc.edu  
Moore School of Business
Courtney Worsham
2022  
Moore School of Business
Jason DeBacker
2023  
Moore School of Business
Liang Ma
2023  
Moore School of Business
Mark Maltarich
2023  
Moore School of Business
Stanislav Markus
2023  
College of Education  Panayiotis Doutis 2021  doutisp@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education  Spencer Platt 2021  splatt@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education William Morris 2022 morrisws@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education George Roy 2022 roygj@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education Mary Styslinger 2022 mstyslin@mailboc.sc.edu  
College of Education  Gregory Trevors  2022 trevorsg@mailboc.sc.edu  
College of Education  Nate Carnes  2023 ncarnes@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Education  Christie Martin  2023 martinc1@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education  Susan Schramm-Pate  2023 sschramm@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Engineering and Computing Yinchao Chen 2021 chenyin@engr.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Neset Hikmet 2021 nhikmet@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Jianjun Hu 2021 jianjunh@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Nathan Huynh 2021 huynhn@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing
Jochen Lauterbach 
2021 lauteraj@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Iftikhar Ahmad 2022 ahmad@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Dongkyu Lee 2022 dongkyu@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing
Nader Qazvini
2022 ntaheri@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing
Marco Valtorta 
2022  
College of Engineering and Computing
Joseph Flora 
2023  
College of Engineering and Computing
Andrew Gross 
2023  
College of Hospitality, Retail & Sport Management
Karen Edwards
2021  
College of Hospitality, Retail & Sport Management
Brian Mihalik 
2022 bmihalik@hrsm.sc.edu  
College of Hospitality, Retail & Sport Management
Mike Moody 
2023  
College of Hospitality, Retail & Sport Management
Nicolas Watanabe 
2023  
Law School Andy Kretschmar 2021 kretschm@law.sc.edu  
Law School Eve Ross 2021 rossea@law.sc.edu  
Law School Jan Baker 2022 bakerjm3@law.sc.edu  
Law School Dan Brackmann 2022 brackmad@law.sc.edu  
Law School Aaron Glenn  2023 glennaj2@law.sc.edu  
Law School Clint Wallace  2023 wallace1@law.sc.edu  
College of Information and Communications
School of Journalism and Mass Communications
Sabrina Habib  2021 shabib@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Information and Communications
School of Journalism and Mass Communications
Van Kornegay 2022 kornegay@email.sc.edu  
College of Information and Communications
School of Journalism and Mass Communications
Ernie Wiggins 2022 wigginel@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Information and Communications
School of Journalism and Mass Communications
Denise McGill  2023 mcgilld@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Information and Communications
School of Journalism and Mass Communications
Lisa Sisk  2023 lisasisk@sc.edu  
College of Information and Communications
School of Library and Information Science
Elise Lewis 2023 elewis@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Robert Dawson 2021 robert.dawson@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Alexa Gandy 2021 alexa.gandy@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Sherri Taylor  2021 sherri.taylor@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Taixing Cui  2022 taixing.cui@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Ana Pocivavsek 2022 ana.pocivavsek@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Helmut Albrecht  2023 helmut.albrecht@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Mohamad Azhar  2023 Mohamad.azhar@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Kandy Velazquez  2023 kandy.velazquez@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Music
Jeffrey Shaw
2021  
School of Music Amanda Schlegel 2022 aschlegel@mozart.sc.edu  
School of Music Daniel Sweaney 2022 dsweaney@mozart.sc.edu  
School of Music Michael Harley  2023 mharley@mozart.sc.edu  
School of Music Lynn Kompass  2023 lkompass@mozart.sc.edu  
College of Nursing Eboni Harris 2021 herberte@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Nursing Sara Donevant 2022 donevant@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Nursing Demetrius Abshire 2023
abshired@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Nursing Kate Chappell  2023
kmkneece@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Nursing Joy Jackson  2023
jrivers@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Pharmacy Caitlin Mardis 2021 musgravc@cop.sc.edu  
College of Pharmacy Jing Fang 2021 fang8@cop.sc.edu  
College of Pharmacy Bryan Love 2022 loveb@cop.sc.edu  
College of Pharmacy Betsy Blake 2022 blake@cop.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Communication Sciences & Disorders
William Matchin  2021 matchin@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Communication Sciences & Disorders
Charley Adams 2023 charley@sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Environmental Health Sciences
Kelly Fleming 2023 fleming9@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Environmental Health Sciences
Eric Vejerano  2023 vejerano@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Monique Brown 2022 brownm68@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Feifei Xiao 2022 xiaof@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Exercise Science
Terry Moore 2021 tmoore@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Exercise Science
Glenn Weaver 2023 weaverrg@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Health Promotion, Education and Behavior
Mark Macauda 2022 macauda@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Health Promotion, Education and Behavior
Emily Mann  2022 emann@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Health Services Policy & Management
Peiyin Hung 2022  
School of Public Health
Health Services Policy & Management
Kelli Kenison 2022 kenison@mailbox.sc.edu  
Undergraduate Affairs
School of Public Health
Kara Montgomery  2023 karam@sc.edu   
College of Social Work
Dana DeHart
2021  
College of Social Work Bongki Woo 2022 woob@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Social Work Brent Cagle 2023 caglebe@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Social Work Robert Hock  2023 roberth@mailbox.sc.edu  
University Libraries
Li Ma
2021  
University Libraries 
Megan Oliver
2021 moliver2@mailbox.sc.edu  
University Libraries 
Brent Appling 
2022 applingm@mailbox.sc.edu  
University Libraries
Megan Palmer
2022 palmerm3@mailbox.sc.edu  
University Libraries Kristina Schwoebel 2022 schwoebe@mailbox.sc.edu  
University Libraries Shanna Schaffer  2023 schaffes@mailbox.sc.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Columbia
Mary Hjelm
 
2021   
Palmetto Colleges
Lancaster
Steven Campbell
2021
 
 
Palmetto Colleges
Lancaster
Stephen Criswell
2021 criswese@mailbox.sc.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Lancaster
Shemsi Alhaddad
2022 alhaddad@email.sc.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Lancaster
Brittany Taylor-Driggers 
2023 taylorbd@mailbox.sc.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Salkehatchie
Allen Kanapala 2022 allenkan@mailbox.sc.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Salkehatchie
Wei-Kai (Bryan) Lai  2023 laiw@mailbox.sc.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Sumter
Santosh Nandi
2022  
Palmetto Colleges
Sumter
Wanda Fenimore 2023 fenimorw@uscsumter.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Sumter
Pearl Fernandez 
2023  
Palmetto Colleges
Union
Jennifer Emswiler  2023 rose4@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Medicine - Greenville Bob Best 2021 rbest@greenvillemed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine - Greenville Renee Chosed 2022 chosed@greenvillemed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine - Greenville Vacant 2023    

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©