Skip to Content

College of Social Work

Iachini Selected as 2020 SSWR Fellow

Jan. 16, 2020
Chris Woodley •   

With the Society for Social Work and Research 2020 Annual Conference underway in Washington, one College of Social Work professor will be recognized for her work and contributions. Earlier this week, Associate Professor Aidyn Iachini was selected as one of 14 2020 SSWR Fellows.

“I was surprised and had no idea until I received a congratulatory email,” Iachini says. “It is a wonderful honor, and an exciting recognition of both my individual achievements and contributions to the Society for Social Work and Research more broadly.”

Eligibility for SSWR Fellows is determined by a point system for participating in activities, such as submitted and accepted abstracts, Special Interest Group conveners and co-conveners, and elected board members. Honorees have served with distinction to advance the mission of SSWR – to advance, disseminate, and translate research that addresses issues of social work practice and policy and promotes a diverse, equitable and just society. This year’s inductees are approximately one percent of the total number of SSWR members in 2018.     

Iachini’s research has focused on the organizational systems and processes, including social and leadership factors, that influence positive youth development within schools and out-of-school settings. She has also co-authored journal articles on topics including, teachers and school mental health, early intervention programs for at-risk high school students, and the contribution of afterschool programs to positive youth development. Iachini will present, “Exploring the Feasibility and Acceptability of a Group Motivational Interviewing Intervention for Ninth Grade Students at High Risk for High School Dropout,” at this year’s SSWR Annual Conference.

Iachini becomes the fourth College of Social Work faculty member named as an SSWR Fellow. Dean Sarah Gehlert; Teri Browne, Associate Dean for Faculty and Research; Kirk Foster, Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion; and Associate Professor Ben Roth have previously received the honor. Iachini will be inducted during the SSWR Annual Conference’s Fellows and Awards presentation this Saturday.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.